Walking Tour of San Jose


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cows Cows CowsCows Cows CowsCows Cows Cows

These seem to be dancing almost as well as Rich and I.
I spent a fun morning yesterday figuring out the city map and walking around San Jose. It is a nice city, nicer than the stuff I read about it. In CR, the only other big city I have done a walking tour of is Cartago which was the capital in the past. Cartago is dirty with litter and traffic but I think San Jose is nicer since it has less traffic in walking areas and lots of parks, museums and other cultural places to visit.

I found the bus terminal that will take me to the Caribbean Coast and decided to take the noon bus. The rest of the morning I toured an exhibit where they take a statue and different businesses and artists decorate them. These I have seen are so creative and this display was no different. This exhibit featured cow or las vacas, in Spanish. It was obvious that they were female (not los toros, or bulls) because they all had udders and these were often painted or exhibited in unusual ways.

There have been some problems receiving information from the director at the Monteverde Institute where I will be attending classes. Yesterday, I was able
Cow with Oxcart Cow with Oxcart Cow with Oxcart

I love these folks art Oxcarts. You see them at festivals so beautifully decorated. I think this is one of my favorite displays.
to use my computer and Skype to call her and give her an alternate email address and today she sent me info on my host family. The couple has one daughter who has a small child of her own. The daughter is 22 and they did not say how old the grandchild is. They live in the nearby city of Santa Elena which is a 45 minute walk from MVI. The father is a bus driver, is in his 50´s and the mother is a housewife and in her 40´s. I will tell you more about them as I get to know them.

In the late morning, I checked out of the hotel and left them my bag. Then it started to pour, but I was able to get to the bus station in time to get a snack to eat on the bus.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Music ShrineMusic Shrine
Music Shrine

This domed monument was located in a wonderful shady, well maintained city park. There were nice benchs to relax and cool off for a while.
Farmer CowFarmer Cow
Farmer Cow

This cow is taking slop to the pigs? Reminds me of myself taking out the compost to the duck yard.
Coffee BeansCoffee Beans
Coffee Beans

Of course coffee beans are never far from the thoughts of the people and so you can expect to see them in the art as well!
BeefBeef
Beef

This is what happens if you don´t make enough milk for the farmer!


20th June 2008

Yay Costa Rica!
Sounds like you are having an amazing trip!
20th June 2008

Great
Wow, Dawn, what nice pictures. I look forward to your blogs - so interesting. I'll be anxious to hear all about your host family. Have a GREAT trip. Love, Aunt Pat

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb