I got in the country!


Advertisement
Published: February 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ana was nice enough to bring me to the airport at 7 am. When I reached the front of the check in line the woman asked about how I was leaving the country, since I had no return ticket...oops. She left me at the desk to while she spoke to her supervisor Needless to say this FREAKED ME OUT. I told her I had reservations on my computer (not true), so she let me proceed.
The flight from Tampa to Fort Lauderdale was not full, no problems. The flight to San Jose was jammed packed. Since Spirit Air is super cheap no bevererages or anything is free. The flight was mostly white Ameicans. None of the flight crew spoke Spanish. Everyone could have been from Sarasota (slightly dissapointing).
I took the cheaper option and found a bus from the airport to the terminal. The buses were a little difficult to find but besides that, easy. The bus driver called me mama linda ¨pretty mama¨ and the cab driver called me amor. Yep, back in Latin America.

I´m still trying to figure out the exchange rate. Approximately 570 colones is 1 dollar. I went to the supermercado that is 2 blocks from the hostel (Hostel Bekuo). They carried veggie burgers, tvp, and powerbars, but they are all expensive. I ended up getting a loaf of bread, bean paste, cheese and a bottle of water. Supposedly I can drink the water, so I´ll start that tomorrow.

I like the hostel so far, it´s pretty empty and there are not lockers. I´m a bit worried about my laptop and I haven´t taken off my passport yet. They do have a safe I´ll ask about.

I signed up for La Tortuga Feliz. I´ll be there from the 8th thru the 21st. I doubt there will be turtles and they say you need to be in tip top physical shape, but oh well I´ll have a great time.

I think I´ll wander around San Jose tomorrow.

Advertisement



3rd February 2010

Off to a good start
Ola mi hija bonita. That airport thing was crazy. There was no indication that getting a one way ticket would be a problem. Dr. Porter's assistant Stacy called first thing yesterday. Her notes said you were leaving late in the day. So very sorry etc. Come see us when you get back. Ben has his first test today. He and Jed studied together last night and this morning. He certainly is trying. I love reading about your trip! I can just picture everything. a big hug.
4th February 2010

Dumb ass
She is a dumb ass. I said MONDAY many times on the phone. I just spoke to someone who got porcelain crowns in panama for something like $150. Digital x rays sixteen cents each!!!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb