And So it Begins


Advertisement
Published: August 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My trip has finally begun! It's always shocking to look back and realize how fast time actually does fly.

My dad and I arrived in San Jose, Costa Rica early this afternoon. The flight was awesome for a couple of reasons: 1. My dad has so many frequent flyer miles United upgraded us both to first class for both lengths of the flight! Free booze, free meals, and free Direct TV. (Ballin'!) 2. The views from my fancy first class window seats were incredible! It was my first time flying over the Gulf of Mexico and it was beautiful! At first I thought we were going to be flying over open waters for the majority of the time, but as soon as that semi-disappointing thought crossed my mind out from the bottom of my window I spotted land. There were beautiful white sand beaches and flooded sand bars covering the Caribbean Islands. There was also bright blue springs sporadically popping out of the uninhabited islands. It was gorgeous.

After we got to the hotel we dropped our bags off, figured out a place to visit, and walked back out the door. Taxis are somewhat expensive (about the same as an American cab), but definitely much less stressful than renting a car and trying to figure out Costa Rican roads and traffic norms. Traffic is insane in San Jose and people love to honk their horns. We traveled to La Plaza de la Cultura which is basically downtown San Jose. After a quick stroll through el Museo de Oro (the museum of gold) we walked around on the streets, trying to get a feel for the culture. I quickly realized that my Spanish skills are pretty rusty.

San Jose is a very interesting place. Downtown San Jose is packed with people and cars. The streets feel chaotic, but lively at the same time. Looking around though, I noticed a lot of familiar places. I saw two Playless shoe stores, probably about three McDonald’s, KFC, Taco Bell, Togo’s, Subway, Skechers, and much more. I felt like I was walking through downtown Los Angeles, not San Jose, Costa Rica. American culture is infused into this part of Costa Rica; we even had beers and appetizers at Hooters across the street from our hotel after we got back. San Jose is a big city in this small country. Needless to say, I am looking forward to visiting the more rural towns this beautiful country.

Advertisement



13th August 2012

Angie's Travels
We are so excited for you. This is a trip you had been long waiting for. Looking forward to reading about what you see and learn. Have Fun and be careful!
14th August 2012

Very cool
Traveling is one of the greatest things to do and im glad you are keeping a blog! First class! oh you fancy huh, keep posting and take lots of pictures but most importantly have a blast!
14th August 2012

Very cool
Traveling is one of the greatest things to do and im glad you are keeping a blog! First class! oh you fancy huh, keep posting and take lots of pictures but most importantly have a blast!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb