Day 11


Advertisement
Published: January 20th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I'm beginning to adjust to this routine. Wake up early, walk to the sodafor breakfast, and then go to school. Today I had gallo pinto, fried egg, maduros, bread and mystery cheese...with a cup of coffee. It was good but heavy as usual for an early morning meal. After finishing up, I walked back to school. It's so peaceful in the morning. Love the morning walks. I haven't walked this far to school since my middle school days. I'm usually walking to the bus or train that will take me right where my high school/college is. So this was definitely a nostalgic but new experience for me.

In class, we got the details for our Marine Bio overnight weekend field trip! We're going to Paquera and Quesera in CurĂº, located in the peninsula of Nicoya. I'm so excited :D After discussing about it, we watched a documentary on Annelids (worms). Didn't know how cool and smart flatworms can be. These documentaries are quite educating and eye-opening haha.

After class was over, I went to grab lunch at my host parent's soda. Gallo pinto, chicken, potato, cole slaw, and squash with a fresh fruit juice on the side. It was delicious but the cole slaw was salty. I always get into a food coma after lunch in my afternoon class lol. From being so full and from the heat...so thankful there is AC in class.

After school, I went to the beach with Jazmin, Jessica, and Haley. They were tanning but I just accompanied them to chill and talk. We were comparing the states / hometowns we were from. It was great bonding with all of them. One is from Minnesota, one from Maryland, and one from Chicago. Pretty awesome that we get to know people from all over the U.S. 😊

Later on, we went to grab ice cream with other girls. I ordered a ensalada fruta con helado (fruit salad with ice cream). It was bomb! So many different fruits with vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup, topped with corn flakes. It was way too big though. Some of the girls were helping me eat it though haha. I really loved the vibes of the ice cream shop. It was so colorful: neon green, orange, yellow, and red. Such fun colors.

After ice cream, we went to the beach to catch the sunset. Soon enough,
it was time to go home for cena. We had pasta tonight! It wasn't like Italian tomato sauce but it had some additional spices. It was quite delicious. My host parents sure know how to cook. During dinner time, I try my best to make conversation with them with the limited Spanish I know. I always keep my phone with me just in case I need to translate anything. My grammar and tenses are so bad LOL they must be laughing at me secretly. Oh well, at least I'm trying.

As for the heat, I think I'm adjusting too. Either it's not as hot now or my body is getting used to it. I have been breaking out in heat rashes here and there but I have cream to control it so it's not so bad. For the rest of the night, I just chilled in my room using my laptop. My parents go upstairs early to their room (and sleep early) -- around 8PM. It's quiet without my roommate next door haha. But that's okay. I'm lucky to have one for the time being here. Most host families just have one student.

And there goes another day

ice cream shop
here in Costa Rica!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement




ensalada de frutas con helado


cena


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb