Fresh Start


Advertisement
Published: December 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I woke up around 10AM with a light sweat. The air was quite stuffy. It took me a while but I finally got ready. I took out the box of chocolates and photo album of NYC pictures in which I was planning to give my host family as a gift. When I stepped into the kitchen and dining room, there was a plate of food waiting for me already. It consisted of rice and beans, also known as gallo pinto, eggs. sausage, and bread & butter. There was also a cup of coffee with milk. It was so delicious. Costa Rica is known for their coffee. It has this natural richness to it that you really probably don't need to add any additional sugar or creamer in it. As I'm eating, I told them in broken Spanish that I got them a gift. I had my Lonely Planet phrasebook ready to guide me through all the conversations. I was explaining the flavors of the chocolates to them and describing each picture to them. I gave them a photo of my family, the attractions I think represent NYC well, and the four seasons of New York since it is tropical weather in C.R. all year round.


They seemed quite impressed and they thanked me for the chocolates. We tried to continue having a conversation but there was definitely a language barrier. For now, we keep using gestures and having them speak slowly to me. Kaitlyn also helps me translate so I feel a little better haha. After I finished my meal, I washed the dishes and went to get ready for orientation. The father came in and gave me the set of house keys and explained to me how open it. He also asked me if I was hungry yet around noon and if I wanted to eat lunch before going. Feeling stuffed, I politely declined. He seems like such a sweet, sincere man.

Kaitlyn walked me to USAC. On the way, we stopped by a tienda, where I can purchase a bottle of cold water. It was super hot and humid. The minute I walked out, I felt the sun tattooed a tan on my pale skin already. We chatted along the way there. It was a short walk. There were a bunch of female students already waiting outside talking. We joined their circle. It was no lie, there really is a beach across the street from our school, how crazy is that? I love it.

When the gates opened, we all went in. Kaitlyn went back home. We slowly filed into the hot room. There was about 40 students. As soon as we all settled in, we met the director, the assistants, and the professors. We all started off with introduction of ourselves. A quarter of the kids attend Pace Univ. so a good chunk of us are from NYC colleges...haha. Turns out they're coming here together as a Spanish class, interesting. There were people from various states like Kansas, Iowa, Massachusetts, California, Tennessee, Texas, Nevada, etc. There was also two from Australia, how cool. And an international student from China. Pretty diverse, I must say.

After introductions, they explained the class details, safety precautions, field trips, etc. They told us there was a pool and gym here so a couple girls and I went to check it out. It was pretty neat. We had a couple breaks where we ate some of their snacks and drinks. It was nice. After orientation, we had to meet with one of the assistants, Susanna, individually to confirm our class schedules. Many people are taking Intro to Tropical Marine Biology which surprised me. But cool, I get to know some of them more throughout the weeks to come. I chatted here and there with different people. Everyone seems friendly and open to talk. I bonded a bit with the Pace kids and the professor. They were asking me about my college meanwhile I was asking them about how they arranged to all come here together haha.

We were scheduled to have dinner with everyone from USAC at 6PM. To kill some time, I went with a bunch of Pace students and a girl from Kansas, named Abby, to go to an ATM to exchange currency. Boy was it blazing... and we walked at least half an hour. We definitely got many looks from the ticos. We obviously looked like tourists. Abby and I chatted a lot. Turns out she was a senior too. As we walked down the streets, we noticed many stray dogs along the roads. We learned there are barely any street lights. Cars will not yield to pedestrians so we have to be careful. And an even more interesting fact: Ticos do not go by streets and numbers when it comes to telling their address out. They use reference points like "in front of the big supermarket or church."

So after asking many different security guards, we finally found a working ATM. Afterwards, we headed back to the beach to explore. We all walked down by the shore as the sun was beginning to set. T'was pretty romantic LOL. It reminded me a lot of Coney Island's beach because it was pretty trashed up and dirty. However, this one is better because there are palm trees and you can see big cruise ships dock at the port of call on the left side and to your right, you see silhouettes of mountains. Many of them walked ahead as one of the guys and I lagged behind because of our shoes haha. We started chatting about the schools we came from and why we chose to come here. We talked a lot about traveling and basically agreed that this "fresh start" experience where you get out of your comfort zone and meet everyone new around you is such an insightful, anxious, but awesome feeling.

The sunset was so gorgeous and calming. The moon was huge! Life here is so relaxing and slow-paced. Reminds me that we need to wind down when we can. It's not always about making every minute productive, but making it feel like you're living a pura vida, a pure life as the Ticos would say.

We finally reached back to USAC and washed off our feet. We chatted with another couple students who were also waiting there. Soon enough, it was dinner time. The restaurant was right next door. We pretty much took up the whole restaurant. I chose to sit with a different group of people to try to get to know everyone. My table was a bunch of females, of course. I think 75%!o(MISSING)f this program is female LOL. They were funny and great to talk to. I was surprised at how many others were seniors too. We briefly talked about our plans after graduation and how we dreaded going into the real world. We got some drinks on the side. I tried "Imperial," the official beer of Costa Rica. It was pretty good, light and refreshing. The legal age to drink here is 18. The cashier was nice. He only charged us 2,000 colones for two cans of beer. That is roughly about $2 each.

After an hour wait, everyone's food finally came. One of the girls next to me, Rachel, found a hair in her rice. We were telling her, "It's no big deal, you're over it. It could be worse." She was like "You're right, I'm over it but I almost swallowed it down my throat." And that's when we all screamed "Ewww" and freaked out LOL. We were all starving and tired so we shrugged it off. I got rice with chicken, fries, and salad. It was delicious. Rice (and beans) are a staple in the Costa Rican diet. Throughout dinner, we all exchanged contact information and made a Facebook group chat so that was nice.

I went home with one of the girls, Paige, because we found out we live very close to each other. After we parted ways, I walked towards my house and almost missed it until one of the family members called out my name LOL. They were all sitting outside chilling and talking. That's what many Ticos do at night. Just relax, chat with each other, and simply enjoy each other's company. I sat down and talked to them too.

I found out my host parents weren't home because they had to attend a funeral... What a way to end a holiday weekend. As I'm sitting there with three-four other female family members, we tried our best to communicate with each other. I had my phrasebook out meanwhile she had Google Translate on her phone LOL. It was funny yet heart-warming. Although there is a language barrier, I feel their love, patience, and acceptance. I was telling them about my family and hometown and showing them the photo album. They laughed when they came across the picture of snow in NY and commented "It's very hot here."

After chatting to them about 20 minutes, Kaitlyn came home and I offered her my seat because I wanted to go shower. Was feeling very gross and sticky. After a refreshing shower, I went to my room and just relaxed. When Kaitlyn came back to her room, I went over and we talked about how my orientation went, how my class will be like, and our plans for tomorrow. We also talked about our hometowns and our college life back home haha. It sure is nice having someone to share these experiences with in a foreign country. But I have to be careful in not doing it too much. I do want to get to know my host family.

The parents finally came home and they each peeped into our room with a smile on their faces. How strong of them to act like everything is okay in front of us, after attending the funeral of their friend. I felt so bad. They asked me how orientation went and then told me to come to their soda (in which they own), fast food restaurant, in the morning for desayuno before going to class at 8AM. We both agreed and hugged and kissed them goodnight.

As I was getting ready to go to bed, I saw a variety of creepy crawlers on my bed....but I killed them all myself. Feelin' like a big girl now LOL. Life is sure different here. Very simple. We take so much for granted in the U.S. Airconditioning is a luxury. Traveling is a luxury. Education is a luxury. It's only been day one and I definitely feel like I'm gaining a lot of insight.
Well, this sums up my first full day in Puntarenas! Buenas noches for now. Class at 8 A.M. tomorrow ....zZzZz.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb