beachside bliss


Advertisement
Published: January 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As the sun blared down upon me a million thoughts raced through my head. Where was I going and what was my adventure?
It only took me 5 weeks to make up my mind!
As I stood on the beach at Herradua waiting for the boat with my pack filled to the brim, I was both sad and excited. Sad to be leaving 5 weeks worth of wonderful company, fun and peace and excited to be starting my adventure. I was off to Montezuma!
A one hour boat ride from Jaco to Montezuma with 8 other backpackers. The sun was hot and the boat was late but as soon as our packs were stuffed into garbage bags we were on our way.
What a super chilled way to travel. A nice boat with extremely nice locals taking us oh so fast but oh so safely all the way to Montezuma, $35, I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

My first thoughts of this cute little beach side town were well, just that! A cute little beach side town. A very very chilled vibe, hippies on the street selling their handmade jewellery, locals riding quad bikes up and down the dirt roads and local Tico's everywhere escaping the sun and enjoying an ice cold cerveza!
Montezuma is a very quaint little town with no more than 10 little shops, a couple of resturaunts and tourist shops and a mini supermarket. There were about 10 choices for accomodation in the main part of town. My choice was a private room that smelt like mould, was extremely hot, had no windows and was directly above one of the loudest hotel/bars ever!! But my things were safe and I was able to enjoy my two day blues in privacy!
You know that feeling you get once you leave something really good? whether it be travelling back home after a holiday, having to return to school after school holidays, or leaving great friends behind in Jaco to travel solo along the Nicoya coast. There's at least a half a day where you feel lost, lonely and lethargic. I was definitely all three of those things for my first couple of hours in Montezuma but the amazing scenery soon snapped me out of it!
A beautifuly positioned town, sitting up above a very rocky albeit beautiful beach. Little beaches spread out and separated by mountains along the coastline, lying below the jungle, accessible to anyone if they seek it.

On Monday I decided to go exploring (after my morning dip of course!) After walking along the dusty roads and being inundated with billows and billows of dust from the passing traffic I came to my own little piece of paradise. A private little beach with rocks forming the perfect seat and waves continuously crashing upon them which made for the perfect soundtrack. I sat there for what seemed like days reading my book, staring out into the endless ocean and for those couple of hours I just was.
This is pretty much my life, sitting, thinking, watching, reading, swimming, sleeping. And I can't get enough of it.
But it was time for adventure. Adventure is always needed to add a little something more in your day and my choice of adventure on this very hot Monday afternoon was the local waterfalls...and what a sight.
After a very long and rocky walk alongside and through a river I arrived at one of the prettiest waterfalls I've seen thus far. Scattered with backpackers I was keen to jump in (No mum I didn't jump from the top) I left that to J.P who ended up dislocating his shoulder! Ouch!
After sitting, swimming and people watching for quite some time I ventured back to my little smelly cabin (it felt like I was on a yacht) to read and the rest is history really.
After purchasing some gorgeous handmade jewellery from my Brazilian gypsy friends I had some bread with vegemite and a beer and went to sleep haha oh the fun of shoestring travel!

Montezuma you little gem!




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb