Last stop in Central Amez... Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: October 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After an amazing couple of months travelling in Nicaragua and Guatemala I headed back to Costa Rica once more before it was time to head home to Oz!

Jerry and I had such a fun few weeks. We met in San Jose and headed to Monteverde to meet his best friend Benji, who is studying there. Monteverde is a beautiful, touristy area in the mountains, where there are stunning cloud forrests, canopy tours, wildlife and much cooler climate than that of the coastal parts of Costa Rica. Jerry and I didn't partake in any of the tourist activities, but we had fun discovering the town with Benji and enjoying time together, just the three of us! Benji is such a genuine, fun-loving, confident, full of life, happy guy, so it was nice to spend some time with him and get to know him better. I can see why Jerry calls him his brother! Monteverde is a really pretty area and I am glad I saw it before departing Costa Rica.

We then headed to Samara, a stunning beach on the Nicoya Peninsula. Another small coastal town, though very different to Montezuma and even more expensive. Jerry's boss, Tyrone, lives here so we were visiting to discuss their thoughts and ideas for his business. We were fortunate enough to stay in their (Tyrone and his girlfriend Laura's) bungalow for the 3 nights we were there. I went for a couple of long walks along the beautiful beach, enjoying the warmth, and the rain 😊 We ate delicious casados (my fave ever) every night, played cards, visited the local bar for a few beers and had fun spending time together. Tyrone and Laura were very accomodating, and great company! Thank-you both for your hospitality!

Jerry and I then headed back to Montezuma. It was great to be back, but really wierd without all my friends. It wasn't the same without Steph, Codi, Rebecca, Mel, Katie, Jill, Corina, Jen, Lucas... all the crew I had so much fun with when I was there last. It was really great to see my local friends, Pablo especially, you'll always be an awesome friend! Had a few fun nights out for Reggae Night, with Jerry djing and I played a few songs my last night though got in trouble from lots of locals cos it was hip hop not reggae, whoops 😊 It was fun when my friends from Norway, Linn and Hildur came back, and other friends Sophie and another Stephanie, we had a super fun night my last night! But Montezuma had such a different vibe. Rainy season was starting so the beach wasn't so beautiful or busy with new faces. The beach was actually a mess with logs and branches everywhere, not how I remembered Playa Montezuma. Though it was raining Jerry and I made the most of the sunny days visiting the beach, eating coconuts (my fave, thanks babe), we cooked and ate well, ran/walked every day, hung out at the pool at Tato's bar (where Jerry's Mum, Tesla, works), and once again enjoyed each others company and our last few weeks together! It was relaxing and fun.

I am going to miss Montezuma and my friends sooooooooooooooo MUCH! I met so many amazing, fun, adventurous, funny, happy, CRAZY people in the small coastal town, over the 6-8mths I spent there. Locals and travellers alike. I have so many wonderful, fond memories from that beautiful part of the world, and look forward to visiting there again one day!!

Jerry y Tesla, MUCHISIMO GRACIAS por todo. Ustedes dos son increible!! A mi me gusto mucho el tiempo con ustedes! Tesla tu eres una concinera buena! La comida en tu casa fue MUY rica!! Muchas Gracias!! Voy a extranar ustedes MUCHO!! Espero que yo puedo visitar otra vez en el futuro!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 181, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 17; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb