I'm heere!!


Advertisement
Published: September 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,

I'm sorry that it's taken me so long to write on this thing but I've not had much internet access and it's been a fairly eventful week. Hope you're all doing well at home. I just wanted to say thank you so much to everyone who donated money or sponsored me or helped in any way to get me out here!

Well, I arrived in Costa Rica last Friday (8th), which actually feels like a lifetime ago. When we arrived it was hunid and raining, so not the welcome we were hoping for! Won't come as a surpirse to some of you that i was sick when we landed anf again after the car journey to the eco lodge in Vara Blanca, near the other girls' project. The lodge was beautiful, with a cosy fire anf massive windows through which you can see the Poas volcano. We got to sleep in luxury that night with a hot shower in the morning! Something I've not had since. We were served fresh tropical fruit, eggs n toast for breakfast- No, still not eating any less! We went for a walk up the hills which was pretty yet tiring- reminded me why I should've gone to the gym before I left!

We started our drive down to the coast which was spectacular, minus the carsickness- maybe I'm not really suited to travelling?! The whole country is soo lush and filled with vegetation. I saw my first waterfall- soo excited!!- will definitely be going back!! There is such a stark contrast between the Central Valley and the Caribbean coast- it looks like two completely different countries. Many people on the Caribbean coast are of Jamaican descent and so tend to be darker skinned that the rest of the country.

I had my first proper Costa Rican meal of beans, rice and yucca (similar to cassava- mogo!)

We finally arrived in Manzanillo in the dark, whilst it was pouring down with rain- but we couldn't find the keys for our house. We tracked them down and couldn't believe our luck when we saw our ''house''. There was nothing inside it with holes all over the ceiling and a pipe for a shower!! Spent the night there and were eaten alive by mosquitoes!! We tried to forget about the shack and so went to the beach and had mango and watermelon for breakfast- bet you're all jealous!!

Anyway we couldn't stay there again- although it's getting sorted now- so we found a cabina, and then the headmistress of Manzanillo school offered for us to stay with her for the week. Her house was built entirely by her crazy American husband who is obsessed with Imperial beer! He has mugs, a neon light sign, a viewblocker etc, all with the Imperial logo!!

The school work never really kicked off and so at the moment we're waiting around to see where we're wanted and where we'll live. We're currently staying in the mini-cottage belonging to the son of a former president of Costa Rica! We're going to San Jose this weekend to see the other vols, and again in a couple of weeks to see a play directed by our country rep. We've been invited to the cast party too which should be good. Oh and we've got the Puerto Viejo arts festival next weekend which we're looking forward to. We've seen our first monkeys!! The howler ones make a huuge roaring sound which is quite scary when you're cycling down the road. We've seen so many lizards, spiders, a few cockroaches and our first snake too! I've cycled a fair amount- 38km in three days!! We've done quite a bit of walking too, so hopefully I'll be healthier when i get home. Although we have just made a chocolate cake (in a saucepan because the oven doesn't work!) so perhaps I won't be too much healthier!!

Who knows what I'll be up to next time I write! Nothing goes to plan here and everyone functions on Caribbean time!! Hopefully I'll be able to put up some photos soon when i work out how to use the computer and when I have more time.

Hope all is well back at home and I look forward to hearing from you all soon (hint hint!!

Take care, lots of love

Jem xxxxxxxxxxxxx

by the way- wain ppl I'm still waiting for emails from two of you!!

Happy birthday to Shreeya (you're gonna be a teenager!!) and Avi who turn 13 and 8 soon!

Advertisement



20th September 2006

wow.
sounds like your having a lush time Jem! The 1st house sounded a bit scary, ha. Goodluck wiht it all miss. x
20th September 2006

A quick hello!
Dear Jaymini, Well done for conquering your fears of spiders and snakes! I hear you even held an iguana - Tyler should be easy after that! I am writing you a long email today (I've left it opn all day so I can update it throughout the day) so you'll have that too. Just wanted to say I'm very impressed with how you've handled everything so far. It's sounds like you'll have a blast there and I'm happy you've found a bit of a kindred spirit in Lotte. All my love, Daniel Fuva x PS - Sonia will be impressed with your cake making!
20th September 2006

Hey Jem.
Hello Jem! Sorry you haven't had the best start but you have handled everything very well, indeed. Things should only get better from now onwards. The first house sounds dodgy, but I think that people will sort everything out for you. Are the monkeys cute? I have always loved those little creatures, but they can be rather michivious, can't they? hehehe. Oooh, that should be great fun, the arts vestival and cast party. Take care and I will talk to you soon hopefully. Miss you loads. Lots of Love Asha(the great)xxxxxxxxxx
20th September 2006

Wow
Sounds fantastic Jaymini. I know it seemed like a long time coming but you are there at last. Well done! I look forward to seeing how things go and what you get up to. I am insanely jealous!!
20th September 2006

My little girl
Jem you never seize to amaze me. I am so proud of you. you have grown into this amazing girl who is going from strength to strength. keep your spirits up. We miss you loads and my food bill has halved Love you loads mumxxx
20th September 2006

Proud of You
Hiya Jem, Just wanted to say I think you will have an amazing year and am so so proud of what you are doing. Keep up the cycling and carry on eating the choc cake ... both of them are good for you. Love you loads and miss you Dad xxxx
21st September 2006

Chimpanzee
Hello my little, Chimp. Sounds like you holding it together. Who knew that there were more laid back people in the world than you?? I am very impressed by the cake baking. Seems you are very resourceful in all respects. Don't think we'll forget that when you return!! I'll be expecting you to bake for us too. You know how proud we all are of you. My baby has grown up to be beautiful, intelligent and strong (especially when it comes to food- a true Bhogaita). Stay in touch. All my love, Son. xxxx
21st September 2006

RE: Hello
Hi Jem, looks like you have been through quite a bit already. Things will get better with time (hopefully not too long though). Every1 back in Leicester are fine and we get updates from ur dad, mum and sis. Looks like we just can't keep you out of the kitchen.... chocolate cake... delicious. We'll have to wait until next year for that. Thanks for for the birthday greetings for avi and shreeya. Make sure you keep in touch and hopefully chat to you soon. Again, well done with what you are doing. We are all so proud of you. Lots and lots and lots and lots of love from Vijaymama, Kaxamami, Naani and rest of the family xXxXxXx.
22nd September 2006

hola
hola Jaymini - cómo es usted? sonidos como su tener un rato fantástico - hope that makes sense...Anyway, just to let you know that we are all very proud of you and that you never cease to amaze us with your lust for life and your quest to experience new things -especially food, so exactly how do you make a chocolate cake in a saucepan??? Also, since I've mentioned food, I was thinking we could possibly trade some mangoes for some parathas??? Just a thought...Everyone here is fine and send there love. Take care and adiós for now. Love as always. Nani, Rajesh mama, Darshna mami, Krish, Gia and th rest of the Leicester family
23rd September 2006

proud of u
hi Jam, how r u? good to hear from Mum n DAD THAT U R OK. I learned how to set up email adresss! thanks to Mum n Dad. not that clever! how r u finding things there? Eating propreley and lookin after yourself n enjoy. tell us how u managing and is it a good experience so far? we all love u a lot. dada has given his love. take care. loads of love.dada n dadi xxx
25th September 2006

on yer bike!
Jam, Hi, how's the cycling going, hear it was 38 miles the other day. Shin
26th September 2006

wish u manzallino project works good luck
hi jam, how r u getting on? i read that u were in San Jose last weekend n enjoying there. dada n I r so proud of u. hope your project works ok anda u have a sucess. we all r missing u.but he u r having and enjoying yourself. take care of yourself. loads of love. dada n Dadi. xxxxxxxx
26th September 2006

Hi J-Money
I'm glad you are having such a great time in CR. How's the biking going? I miss you so much and love you more. I am so proud of what you are doing in CR and can't wait to see you next time : ) I have to pass this blog link to K-To-The-Shawn and he'll write. Be safe, Rohini
4th October 2006

Friend of your dad's
Hiya Jem, we've not met but I used to work with your dad who told me about your plans for your gap year. Sounds like you are having such a great time already which is fab! Wishing you the very best for the rest of your travels, enjoy and make the most of it, which I am sure you will. Look forward to reading more blog entries regarding your travels as you're covering an area I've never been to. Be safe and have loads of fun! Skevi
12th October 2006

Hiya Hon
Hi Jaymini. Sounds like you're having a fantabulous time!! Very jealous but also very very proud of what you have achieved. You obviously faced a few obstacles during the early part of your 'journey', but it's a great way to experience life… so live it up!!! Can't wait for the pics. Take care and Enjoy……..LoL Nana, Nani, Mama x2, Mami x2, Jamie Masi and Aum xxx

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb