Riding the waves in Jaco


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Puntarenas » Jaco
October 13th 2006
Published: October 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I've finally reached paradise. Got out of San Jose as fast as possible, onto a bus that took us for a 3 hour harrowingly fast journey winding through cloud forests and finally down on to the pacific coast. It was absolutely gorgeous. I got to Jaco at about 4 yesterday, and met up with a Montreal chick named Leslie, who I'm now travelling with. We found a nice joint owned by a Tico named Miguel, super nice fellow, who then came over last night to cook us a delicious welcome meal of beef, rice, peppers and onions, it was terrific...and free!! Later on, Miguel, Leslie and I picked up some beers, and went back to the hotel and Miguel and I jammed...he has two guitars, one of which is a beautiful Fender accoustic. Damn it feels good to play again, and I've only been gone for 3 days!

So this morning Leslie and I went out to rent some boards. The beach is amazing (I'll get some pictures up as soon as I can). The waves were about double overhead this afternoon, which didn't bode all to well for my first time surfing. Never the less, I started to get the hang of it, after being tossed around for 2 hours, and near the end I got in a few standing rides to shore.

Well, it's a far cry here from the garbage of San Jose, I'm sure I'll have to extend my 2 night booking to at least 3 or 4. Miguel, Leslie and I may head upto Volcan Arenal this weekend in Miguel's truck (splitting the gas), and then come back down to the coast to visit Manuel Antonio. Well, that's about it for now. I'm about to head out back to the waves for another few hours with Miguel, so he can show me how to actually surf, cause it's sure hard trying to teach yourself.

The one phrase everyone uses in Costa Rica is 'Pura Vida' - meaning 'Pure Life'. It's a perfect description of the life here on the the hot and beautiful coast.

Advertisement



15th October 2006

Yo Dude...
You have only been gone for a short time and you are already calling the female companions as "Chicks" - Whaddaya??????
15th October 2006

Yo DUDE
Sounds like you have been having a great time. Say HI to your new CHICK (song in the making)...can't wait to see some pics
16th October 2006

riding high in Manuel Antonio
Hi Hon, Hope you're having a great time in Manuel Antonio and catching some -- not too -- big waves. Love you and thinking ofyou. MoB

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb