Creature of the Night


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Puntarenas » Jaco
February 19th 2013
Published: February 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My mystery has been solved...the creature that comes out only after dark is a ----frog; but not like our frogs, MUCH LOUDER, FOR A LOT LONGER; gives you the creeps. Honestly, last night I could swear that whatever it was, because I didn't know what it was at the time, was going to come right through the screen. The reason I now know it is a frog or many of them is because last night when I went to bed I heard my only neighbor Rob outside and yelled out to him, through the screen, asking him if he knew what would be making all these terrible sounds I'd been hearing. Of course the dam frog or frogs didn't make a peep while we were talking. Anyway, that is his theory and I like it so that's what I'm going with - creepy though I gotta tell you. When all is still in the jungle, and very dark to hear these sounds for hours on end...if I only had a gun and a bullet. I'd likely need a few because I have shone my flashlight outside and haven't seen a thing - but I'm sure they blend right in.

Yesterday I went with Francisco and his family to Punteranas, a fishing village about I don't know 35 km or so from here. We went right down to the ocean where the big market is and I bought some fresh tuna. I have taken some pictures of the swordfish that had just got in and cut into four BIG pieces. I hope to go back and get some of that and maybe some lobsters. There were so many buzzards there - they are soooo ugly...... There is nothing much to actually see in this village, but it is surrounded by the ocean on both sides as some of it is on a peninsula.

Today I will visit the Paos Volcano, which is still active. I am leaving in an hour so I need to go and get ready for the day. I have hired Francisco to drive me as it is much easier having a native of the country - and his is good company as well. A very wise man - oxi-moron I know, ooops, sorry guys. He knows the only important thing in life is keeping his woman happy; yes, a very wise man indeed.

Hope everyone enjoyed their Family Day yesterday.



Till Later...luv ya.



Cheryl Fay

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb