Costa Rican Express


Advertisement
Published: May 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I got to the Costa Rican border early and got through fairly easily after I located the same guy that helped me through this border the last time. I was feeling a sense of urgency to make progress northward so I opted to return via the coastal route which is a lot faster. This would get me back to Jaco where I could spend a night in the tent for the first time in several days. I set up my tent in spite of there being nobody around in the reception and took a long walk along the beachfront. It was after that when I tried to go to the internet that I had another encounter with my friend Yo the Ho. I'm not sure if she remembered me or not but she was still up for some fun. I paid her no attention and kept walking when she called out but she had the angle and drew up beside me. I got a very interesting vocabulary lesson in a mixture of Spanish and English that essentially amounted to a pledge that she could make me very happy if I would go with her to her house. I think that it also included the means by which she would accomplish this task but that I didn't get because I am not yet old enough and because I missed spanish class the day we talked about las aves y las abejas. I told her to go away and leave me alone in the best way that I knew how but she persisted. I thought at this point that she must be daft or crazy, because it should have been obvious by now that her time would be better spent looking for another customer, but that was before I realized that she had another trick up her sleeve. She had come in so close that I did not detect that her hand was on my leg as we were walking side by side with shoulders touching. Unfortunately for her, my wallet was securely zipped into the pocket of my travel pants where it is virtually impossible to pick. Ha! I grabbed her hand, moved it away forcefully, and quickened my pace to get away. Twas a nice try, Yo, but I am never so distracted and ill-prepared that a woman will have my traveling money and keep me at home!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb