Zip-lining


Advertisement
Published: August 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

A little swan pastry at breakfast :)
Well today began with a true Costa Rican adventure, zip-lining through the jungle. My dad and I did the Vista Los Suenos Canopy Tour which included a trek up a mighty slippery hill in a tiny quad/tractor thing with four local guides, 14 amazing cables, and fresh fruit at the end. Did I mention it was raining? Fortunately it was just a light sprinkle, and my dad and I were the only ones on the tour. Our guides Christopher and Fabian were the nicest guys and extremely knowledgeable about the trees in the jungle. We learned about the arboles de caja, which the indigenous used to hit like drums as a way to send signals to one another (much like the use of smoke signals). We also learned about Ficus trees which literally live off of other trees and eventually strangle their host trees to death. We learned about one other tree, the Sabo, which is the biggest type of tree in Costa Rica and is said to be a direct access to God, and is also said to have roots as deep as it is tall. Zip-lining was so much fun, and the cables were particularly fast due to the
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Ready to zip-line
rain! We spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing, reading, and lounging. We are now about to go have dinner in Jaco at a restaurant called Hicaco, which has been recommended as the best restaurant for seafood in Jaco.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Upside-down was too cool!
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

I told Fabian my Dad was too scared to go upside-down... and then I look up to see him coming towards me upside-down!!! Still can't believe he did it!
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Fabian (left) and Christopher (right) our awesome guides.


30th August 2011

So brave!
Awe! So happy to hear that your already starting off with some lovely adventures! Love the pictures, I'm going to have show your pop's picture to my dad and tell him to step it up! Haha Big hugs to you!
31st August 2011

Aww thanks Michelle! haha I was shocked my dad went upside down! I told one of our guides after I did it that he was way too scared, he proved me wrong! Hope all is well chica :)

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb