what up gatos


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I made the tragic mistake in monopoly, Costa Rican style yesterday, in trading properties. Jeff recieved from me the key piece in completeling a monopoly right before the jail. I only received 1 piece and cash. I though I had played my cards right becasue he wouldn´t have money to build houses and I was soon on my way to owning that dangerous corner of the board where Ny ave, park place, and kentucky ave all meet.. However, Jeff started mortgaging land in order to build houses and of course everybody started landing on his shit and I got my ass handed to me. i hate losing in monopoly.


Now for Jeremy´s slew of questions:

the one that caught my attention first; the toilets here in Costa Rica are definitely not American made, and are not equipped to ahndle American bred defeciation. Twice already, I have taken the Browns to the superbowl and won in a landslide, if you can translate. (as in we had to call in for backup in the form of a plunger).

Second question: Are there shady people in the streets selling stuff. So far, out of the bus windows i´ve bought, dougnuts, these furry covered fruits with seeds that if eaten lead to diarrhea, some form of onion rings minus the onion, and dried bananas, and thats just from seat 34 aboard the direct bus to manuel antonio. Walking around downtown San Jose, the possiblities are endless. There are lottery ticket sellers galore, exotic jungle bongs, covered in carved frogs, lizards and whatever else they can make out of wood, lots of weird guys selling weird fruits out of plastic bags, and endless other things.

theres no shortage of homeless guys sleeping in plastic bags beggin for money either. To them I usually say ¨No, hablo espanol." Then we have the crazy guy missing a few chromosomes who rides my bus to desamporados singing, awfully, and then demands money for his performance; which on the comical aspect is worth 20 colones alone, or about 4 pennies.

I get called a gringo between 2-10 times a day depending upon the occasion, but lately a lot less because i´m speaking better. Completely in the opposite direction now, the only english cab drivers know is "Do you need a cab" or " Fuck you"... Never ride with the guys who say "Do you need a cab" because they´ll try and charge you up the rear end. Always ride with the "Fuck you" guys because they´re hysrical, love to chat up the local lingo, and usually give you a good deal. As scary as that may sound its the truth. Ps. don´t tell the cabbie he has a crappy car and that its dying, like marcos did wednesday night, they dont´appreciate it, and you don´t get a discount.

My family is taking me to a "Negro" bar tonight. They said it, not me. They´re trying to set me up with their 25 year old and a 27 year odl friends. Not sure how that works, but we´re goign to go with it. If i coudl sweet talk the language, I´d bee picking up some sweet Latin booty, but i can´t, so i ain´t. Here, the Costa Rican women love the gringos, mainily for their money, but if i have to flash an Abe Lincoln to get some pull, I will, I´m not above it.

I think I told you guys I bough a Costa rican beer shirt that involves a cow 6 udders, and a beer. I got another beer shirt for free just or being Laczak one night a bar. And when I get home you can bet I will flaunt it like farneti flaunts his chest hair. Marco´s also gave me a sweet costa rican soccer jersey, so i´m pretty complete as far as attire is concerned. However, I am in the market for some capri pants, just because they are ridiculous and i need something ridiculous.

I´m definitely goign to be cooking a lot of beans and rice when i get back to the states, its become a part of me.

My family here has been busting my chops a lot lately becuause they say i´m so serious. Trust me, you´d be serious too if you didn´t understand what was always going on and didn´t have the vocabulary to make wise sarcastic remarks. My whole game is based on the laczak laugh and sarcasm. WHen you combine the two, its a synergistic effecct and complete hilarity ensues. but, when you take away one, the other loses its affect and you get a lot of "vamos al baño" (Lets go to the bathroom for those of you who took french).

However, i´ve definitely changed as a person in these 5 n half weeks down here. You really become a lot more independent and adaptable to situations just cus you´re on your own in a foreign place. Realistically you need to spend 8 months to a year down here to become fluent, and frankly I don´t have the time or the stamina to eat that many rice and beans. If I give it ago next summer to another country I might think about traveling with a good friend as it does get a bit lonely here, and Americans come in small quantities. I´m thinking Ireland/England/Australia/Vietnam. I need to do a clinical internship somewhere, and I won´t be able to do it here in CR because i´m not fluent. So if anyone is up for traveling next summer or next year for a semester, hollacha hombre.

My leg hair is blonde

If people want to talk to me online... Live.. Everday 11am to 12 NY time i´m on AIM.

I´m looking forward to when i return for i´ll be unleashing a lot of venom fang and ice beam in mikes direction.

I can´t wait to read the Press and Sun Bulletin. Hoy! Is getting a little old.

I´m only home for a few days, so i gotta make em count, I´ve bene makinga list of things I´d like to do. If anyone is interested in joining in an activity or two or all ove them, gimmie a buzz around noon, monday the 15th because i´ll be hanging out in Miami for about 5 hours waiting to catch my next plane.

Heres the list:

Golfing 18 holes, and a kart, possibly a 6 pack of brews.

Hike through the railroad tunnel on tunnel hill road, its about 10 minutes from my house, and i gotta do it. Speaking of trains, there are none here in Costa Rica, beacsue the people kept robbing allthe stuff of them, so the government put them out of commission.

Possibly a mets game or some serious bowling action.

I´m definitely going to make cookies one day. I´ve been depreived of cookies in CR.

There was a whole bunch of other stuff too, but i forget... If anyone has anything to add to the list, just let me know, i´ll be jammin on the one.


you guys can throw a party at my house if you want. My parents are in oregon for the week, haha, i´m just kidding, mom´s heart probably just skipped 2 beats on that one. but, don´t worry we will have a fiesta upon my return.

this is like the longest blog ever, and its completely about nothing. Everybody keep it real, I´ll be talking to you next week, most likely tuesday because i´m takin the 6 am bus on monday morning back from limon, which means i´ll miss my slotted hour of comp time.

pura vida, love life

-senor luke

ps. by thew ay the beer here is not cheap, at first i saw a 6-pack advertised for 1.50 US, but I finally figured out that they don´t advertise by the 6-pack but by THE BEER! ouch... Incredible, and expensive. I´m looking forward to a nice yuengling or american brew, because the beer here sucks, tastes like a slightly upgraded keystone ice.. With that in mind, dad if you had a bottle of brew with me, monday night, that´d make my summer.

Advertisement



5th August 2005

activities
i would be glad to take part in any of the aformentioned activities. please notify me of such events when you get back. signed, michael farneti XOXOXOXO
7th August 2005

got ur post card today...was at the lake tubing and kneeboarding and what not all weekend and saw the monkey of a postcard sittin on the kitchen table when i got home. Thanks Luke!can't wait to go back to the port..................and oh yea..Go Sox:)

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb