Caribbean Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: April 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Adios (caribbean for hello),

I´m in a town called Puerto Viejo, more reminicent of Jamaica, then costa rica, and actually it surprises me how much I like it. The hostel is great, crazily decorated with tiles all over, various sculptures, and filled with about 50 tents, 50 hamocks, and a wild treehouse hovering above it all. Plus its right on the beach, and to top it off we were greeted with popsicles! 😊

The town is filled with Jamaican descendents, and thus rasta culture, ganja of course, carribean food blended with coconut juice, filled with surfers, and alternative folk. English is widely spoken. Yet it is also surrounded by beautiful waters, and again I experienced another exquisite sunset as the sillhoutes of futbol players danced around the beach.

I´m here for a few days and have some major minor decisions to make. I´m looking for volunteer work with turtles for a week, yet I also want to celebrate pesach. I also am debating whether to go to Peru at the end of my trip which I would love to do, but don´t want to rush through costa rica and hope to get to Nicaragua. So while enjoying the beaches, and the national parks around the area, I will be making some decisions.

The one park I have visited so far was a park called tortugero. Although it is largely known for its turtles, I didn´t see any. But I did canoo the rivers of tortugero for 6 hours with two Israelis and an american, where we saw three species of monkeys, poison dart frogs, plenty of birds, caymans, and more. A good way to start my time here in Costa Rica.

The worst thing lately is that my zoom lens broke, and now I´m without a nice lens to capture all of these animals. But at least I´m here, experiencing it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb