La Tortuga Feliz


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I got back from the beach patrol at 4 in the morning. Man, was I tired. It was a great hike tho. Its about 6 miles to and from. There was a lot of thunder and lightning way out above the ocean. I saw my first turtle; this HUGE leatherback!! It was so amazing, so massive! We collected her eggs, about 80 fertile and 40 non fertile ones, carried them in a bag, and took them back to the hatchery. After the eggs were relocated, we went out again, considering we still have time left. We didnt see much, except for a few poachers. I slept in until 6 30, had some breakfast, which BTW, the food is delicious!! Went for a swim after that, and I must say, the ocean is always warm. I could have spent an entire day just sitting there and relaxing and not worry about anything. We had a meeting at 10, which is daily. We sat around until lunch, and played games, and socialized. For us newbies, we had another meeting at 1 to talk about the patrolling. I went out again tonight at ten.

Advertisement



16th July 2010

haha poachers? What were they poaching...turtle eggs? Also did you get any pictures of this huge leatherback? What kind of foods did you eat?

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb