(Study Abroad) Running


Advertisement
Published: August 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

1. I would recommend getting in shape before traveling to Costa Rica. This is beneficial not only because of all of the beautiful hikes available around the country, but because running is a phenomenal way of exploring the local area. Whenever I had no evening activities planned I would put on my running shoes and start running with nothing but a general idea of the direction I wished to go. I ran all around the Heredia area. Middle class houses give way to gated mansions and, as I ran farther, houses became sparser and gardens began to fill the steep slopes of foothills. Houses became smaller and more ramshackle. I do not believe that this was a sign of poverty; rather, it seemed to be Ticos living contentedly with what they had. I had a few conversations with groups of curious children who were not used to seeing tall gringos jogging through their neighborhoods. I found all manner of beautiful churches, fun local bars, and quiet cafes. Looking at my watch, I realized that I had been running for over an hour, so I made my way back home. After a few such jogs I was very well acquainted with the area and never had to worry about getting lost.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb