Exploring Heredia


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Heredia » Heredia
September 5th 2011
Published: September 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

One of two main churches
Today I explored the city of Heredia with a fellow student, Shayla. We walked to the center of town and allowed ourselves to get lost. We ended up in Heredia's one hundred year-old cemetery. It was absolutely beautiful. The graves had been kept clean and were adorned with statues, flowers, and plants. Some of the tombs were made of lava rock, some of stone, some of marble, some of tile, and some were just simple crosses in the ground. Then we found our way to two of the town's churches. We also went through the market and bought agua de pipa (a fresh coconut) and had chicken empanadas and pineapple juice for lunch. We met a really nice older gentleman named Fernando and I talked to him for a while about studying in Heredia. I'm taking every opportunity to speak Spanish that I can. After wandering through the city for a few hours and taking pictures we headed back towards our houses. We decided to head over to the mall and see a movie. We saw "Crazy, Stupid Love" and I thought it was great. Not to mention that Ryan Gosling was smoking hot throughout the entire film 😊 .After our
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

The town park
movie we got a little coffee gelato which was tasty and then we walked over to Shayla's house. I met her host Mom Hannia, Hannia's daughter Jessica, and Jessica's daughter Aridriana. Jessica and Hannia were really nice, and Aridriana is an extremely talkative little three year-old. She wanted Shayla and I to color with her and so I drew her a beach scene and then she helped me color a turtle. She was adorable and had a head full of curly, dark hair. While we were coloring she would just burst into song and sing her little heart out haha, unfortunately she was very hard to understand. All in all it was a fun day, and I'm glad I got to see more of my new city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 65, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

A soccer field
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Tracks in the city
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

el cementario


7th September 2011

Hey Lil Laura, love the blog. You\'re a very good writer. I\'m a little disapointed you only have one photo of a hot babe... photo 23. LOL. Keep it up, Tio

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb