Tom's House


Advertisement
Published: October 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My first true weekend in Costa Rica was nice and relaxing. Maria, Tom's mom, came down to the city on Friday to show me how to take the bus up to their house. When I arrived Friday afternoon with Maria, Bruno and Max (the new puppies) were beyond excited! I think I managed to receive 20 extra showers over the span of the entire weekend. But I had a blast playing with them! I love big dogs and I don't get to hang out with any when I'm down in the city. Ticos are extremely afraid of large dogs. If a Tico owns a dog it's very small. A beagle, poodle, jack russell, etc. So it's very nice to spend time with a black lab and 2 Rottweilers.

We had a great pasta and meatball dinner Friday night with some nice family conversation. Saturday was even better! I got to sleep in! =) Well, I still woke up at 8:30am because I'm used to waking up for class at 7am every morning. But Maria was already up with fresh coffee for me. We made some eggs with toast and enjoyed the beautiful weather sitting on their outside porch. After breakfast, I decided best to take advantage of the amazing weather and sit outside to start my homework Oky assigned. She gave me a ton so I thought it best to get a head start. I sat enjoying the great view of all 3 cities while conjugating irregular verbs. When my brain needed a slight break, I decided to try and take a run up the mountain. Man did I get my exercise. It took me a good 25 minutes to get up the mountain and back down. I forgot how hard not only hills are, but dealing with the altitude as well. I continued to do a little jumprope when Tom pulled up with his finace, Carla.

We enjoyed yet another great afternoon snacking on some tuna salad and college football. Oh and everyone knows the Canes destroyed Clemson right? Just making sure! =) While the college games continued a storm began to roll in...a bad storm. THe lightning was unreal! I felt like the storm was right outside the house.

We had some extra visitors as well! A couple from Ocala flew in around 3pm and Maria picked them up from the airport to bring back to
Tom's HouseTom's HouseTom's House

Dinner table
the house for the night. While Maria was fixing up dinner, Carla (Tom's finace) was kind enough to help me with my homework. Carla doesn't speak any english so it was great for me to practice my spanish. She's a great teacher too!

Later we all enjoyed a nice evening dining on pea soup and wine. And later with some vanilla ice-cream. =) A nice cap to the night. We ended the night watching the brutal beating by Alabama on Florida.

Today wasn't much different. Relaxed watching NFL football and doing my homework. Maria suggested making another type of tuna salad for a late afternoon snack. Here in Costa Rica, they have a 101 different flavors of Tuna fish. Maria told me to pull out a can of the jalapeño flavored tuna fish...add a can of corn and about a cup of cream cheese. Mixed all together is absolutely delicious! My new found favorite! I'll be bringing some jalapeño flavored tuna fish home mom! haha

I ended my weekend with a nice bus ride back into town arriving back at Miriam's around 6pm. Can't wait to see what tomorrow brings! =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Tom's HouseTom's House
Tom's House

Bruno and Max
Tom's HouseTom's House
Tom's House

Full view
Tom's HouseTom's House
Tom's House

The twins


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0981s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb