Heredia - Samara - Nicoya


Advertisement
Published: July 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Our class in HerediaOur class in HerediaOur class in Heredia

Elana, me, Mike, Jacky (la professora) y Dana
Hola,

I've got a bit of time on my hands (as my bus doesn't leave for another 5 hours, so thought I'd get started on a blog. I'm not sure how successful it will be when I'm terrible at writing a journal, and even worse at letters. I'd like to upload some photos though, as insurance.

I've had two weeks so far- one week in Heredia and one in Samara. I wish I could have had an extra week in Heredia (and maybe Samara too) as most people were staying longer and will be so good at spanish when they leave! Dana's staying until october! Heredia was really fun, and it was so nice having the market to get cheap food. Most of my friends from school went to monteverde the weekend after my week there, but I think I'm going later on so a few of us went to the coffee plantation Cafe Britt instead, which was great fun. There were lots of free coffee and chocolate samples, and a nice tour, but I only took photos on Derick's camera so they will have to wait.

The trip to Samara was pretty straight forward (although I did have to go to San Jose the day before to buy my ticket). The school had tried to persuade me to go with the private transfer but wanted $30! The public bus was actually quite nice and cool, and I managed to get direct as I bought in advance. The Samara school is right on the beach with lots of palm trees and hammocks etc. I saw monkeys outside the school too, which was exciting. The school does really good activities- the evening yoga is amazing as its dark and you can hear the ocean. The classes are quite intense but the teachers are really good. I've managed a few long conversations on the way to Nicoya this morning so I must have learnt something.





When I left Samara this morning it was pouring with rain, and last night there was a massive storm, so I think I had the best of the weather for my week. I got the bus to Nicoya this morning at 10 as the only direct bus to san jose is at 4.30am and I really don't want to arrive that early! There are loads of buses going from Samara but they are full until 5. But I did managed to phone the hostel- in spanish!- and say I'd be arriving late.

Not sure I've completely worked out how pictures work yet but this will do for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb