Flamingo 1


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Got to the host family on Sunday night and had dinner. Monday morning mama tica made me gallo pinto and I forgot what else. I catch a

bus to school since it’s too far to walk. The bus comes at 7 and it’s about a 10 min drive to the school but the bus is always about 5 mins

late so we get to school about 7:15 and class starts 8. So I have time in the mornings to do my HW. I have class with Darius. We had

fruit and muffins (like cornbread) for the break snack. Then at 12 I am done with classes. I don’t have to take the 5.5 hours here I just

need 4 hours a day. For lunch we walked to the restaurant at the hotel resort up the street it’s really nice. They have several pools that

CPI students can use. And we get 10% off at the restaurant called monkey bar. It overlooks the beach and you can walk down to the

beach and swim too. You have to go through the hotel to get to this beach area though. I think its called flamingo beach but maybe not.

There are several beaches all in a row and after each peninsula it’s a different beach. There is first flamingo beach then brasilito then

conchal then tamarindo then playa grande or something like that. That might not be the right order. The beach surfing beaches are playa

grande then tamarindo (according to my teacher). We had lunch at monkey bar restaurant then my friend s wanted to go swimming but I

didn’t have my suit and neither did darius. It’s too expensive to take a taxi back home to get them so we thought we would just walk

and go buy one. But the only places close were the resorts that sold them for super expensive. (The cheapest 30 to 90 dollars) darius

found a guy suit for 15 and I couldn’t find anything so we went back to the beach and then to the pool and hung out for a while then we

had to go back to the school to catch the bus back home at 430. Me Zach and Alec went to the beach close to our house (cuz we all take

the same bus home cuz we live in Portrero the same city and the other city w homestays is lajas) so they came w me to my house real

quick to get my suit then we went to the beach at Portrero to swim. It was so cool we got to see the sunset and it started raining and

the ocean got all calm. Then they walked home on the beach and I went up the road towards my house as it was getting dark. I’m so

glad I didn’t get lost. I live next to pearla bar so I can just ask pple where pearla bar is (which is also my morning bus stop). I went

home showered then mama tica served me spaghetti. I go to bed early here like 830.


The next day I had eggs with hot dog pieces and mama tica put out a huge plate of bread. I’m not a big fan of bread by itself.

I remembered to bring my swim suit and everything for the beach when I went to school. People basically have to pack a day bag when

they leave for school in the morning. I told my teacher what I wanted to do in class today. I want more flashcards to memorize vocab.

everything is review for me and it is helpful to review but to spend an entire day going over each topic. So I told my teacher that. After

school we caught the school van/ bus to brasilito and the driver took the 5 of us to a good restaurant by the beach. They had us each

pout our hands in a bowl of water with flowers floating on the top and the guy dries off your hands. Then your hands smell all floral. I

ordered casados with chicken it was just rice and beans and a piece of chicken and I asked him to substitute the salad for fries and then

they forgot to put the fried plantains on it so I got a big plate of fried plantains on top of that then got banana flambé. Then we walked

to the conch shell beach (“conchal”) it has small pieces of shells all on it instead of sand. It was pretty cool. Its kind of a cloudy day. The

waves are not big. Then we went back to brasilito beach but the high tide had come so we had to hold up our bags and wade through

part of the water to cross over to the other side. We went to the store and I got some vinegar for my hair (to hopefully get the green

out) then we took a taxi home. I found us a taxi and Eve negotiated to have half off for us so we paid 4,000 in stead of 8,000 colones.

Went home and had zucchini cooked with hamburger meat. Horchata and rice pudding with raisins in it. And beans and rice with tortilla.

Then I watched “quien quiere ser un milionair” aka “who wants to be a millionaire” in Spanish with mama tica for a little. She is the only

one here cuz her daughters live in FL with their dad and go to school up there and her husband (not the father of her daughters) is a

tour guide so he is gone for 10 days with a bus of tourists.


For breakfast I had eggs and gallo pinto and she also put our toast and cereal but I didn’t eat those. She puts out a lot of

food I guess so I can choose what I want I don’t eat a lot thought. I really like the beans and rice though. Then at school I told my

teacher I wanted to do the flashcards and that I already knew gerunds (the next topic he was going to teach us) so we did a practice of

gerunds to show we knew it and then we played taboo. Where you have to get the other person to guess the word but there is a list of

a few words under it that you can’t say. It wasn’t exactly what I was thinking of but it was better then going over something really slow

that I already know. The most helpful for me is when the teacher quizzes us but of course that also requires that the teacher knows

English which most teachers don’t. My second teacher in Heredia did. But no morning teachers since then. For break we had a little

pancake and water melon. Eve decided to go horseback riding today so the rest of us came to monkey restaurant for lunch and to swim.

They have stools in the water so we sat in the pool and ate lunch. I got a chicken burrito. There is the illusion of Mexican food here but

when it comes its never real Mexican food. Then we swam for a little. Now I'm on my laptop here doing my blog and HW.







Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb