A week of surfing


Advertisement
Published: March 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We spend the rest of the week going surfing and lounging around the hotel. This truly is a vacation even for me. And yes I needed a vacation from traveling. It's been a while since I last surfed and I'm not very good at controlling the surf board. It's a good thing the beach is not very crowded or I would probably hit someone if they were in the water in front of me.

Kitt (Adam's brother) comes down from Nicaragua to go surfing with us. He's a much better surfer than we are. I guess surfing for 6 years makes a difference.

On most of our surfing expeditions, Cisco is busy taking pictures on the beach and getting sun burned. Actually, we all get sunburned, but mine wasn't as bad as everyone one else. I'm not a white chicken anymore 😊. In your face Auntie Irene.

Before the week is over, we make a day trip to Liberia to drop Kitt off at the bus station so he can catch his bus back to Nicaragua. The wind has picked up from all the storms in the Caribbean. It's so strong that it's blowing down trees and signs all over the place. I've never seen such strong winds. It reminds me of the winds that blew down the trees in Stanley Park when we had the wind storm in Vancouver. We bid Kitt farewell and head back to our hotel.

It's the last day and night in the hotel and I'm getting in my last workout session in the gym. The rest of the gang went into town to book a tour to see the leather back turtles. At night we head into town, eat dinner, and head out on our tour. We cross the river and end up on an island with a national park. We are told that we are not guaranteed to see turtles and if we don't, we can come back the next night. Unfortunately for us, we are leaving for Monteverde tomorrow. We are also told that we are not allowed to make any noise or use any device that produces any light as these two things will scare the turtles away.

We spend 4 hours (21:00 - 01:00) on the island sitting around waiting for the turtles. It's the most boring thing to do. Some people are sleeping, others are listening to music on their MP3 players. I'm listening to my iPod. Good thing I brought it with me or I would be bored out of my mind. At 01:00, our guide tells us it's time to go and we catch the boat back across the river. Back on the mainland, we end up seeing little baby leather back turtles trying to swim to the ocean. I can say that I saw leather back turtles, but I would have preferred to see the giant ones. At least I got to see the giant land turtles in the Galapagos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb