Is this the way to Tamarindo?


Advertisement
Published: October 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrive in Tamarindo in the early afternoon and find my cameras are missing, doh! The town isn´t even big enough to have a police station and the next town only has a small one so can´t give me a report for insurance! It makes writing these blogs quicker as I have no photos to upload.
I sleep all afternoon then explore in the evening. It´s very quiet as low season so not many people about and very heavy rain for 2 hours. I see the guide´s mates but can´t be bothered to go chat to them.
Decide to leave the next day but there is no electricity until 2pm so I can´t get my laundry back. I decide to have a surfing lesson instead. The basic technique looks easy enough, it´s just hard to put into practise when on a moving board on, what to me seems, a high wave! The first few I get to my feet by stay crouching as I don´t like being so high up. Then I get it properly and am standing and stable!! Great fun for 2 hours but my sun tan lotion is rubbish so I burn the back of my legs.
Decide I will leave the next day but meet some American´s in a bar and no-one can leave as the rain is so hard so too hungover to get up the next day. Spend the day lazing on the beach, which is what Tamarindo is made for! In the evening the town is dead again, but it´s Friday so I am sure someone must be around. I finally find someone in the know and walk to the other end of town through a very unlit patch of road! There is a bar, monkey bar, 2 floors up with live band and DJ. I salsa and merengue the night away with the locals who make me look even worse than I actually am.
Finally up in time to get the 9.30 bus to Liberia. Arrive at 12 and go to the police station, they can´t give reports either!!! They take pity on me so drive me to the O.I.J (o, e, hota, if they had written it rather than saying it I would have understood all along!!), department of justice. They take all the notes and give me a report. At last I can leave! I decide to buy a camera while there but after searching 8 huge shops I realise they don´t have any good cameras. I give up very grumpy and go back to the bus station. The queue for the border bus is far too long for me to ever get on so I follow some foreigners to the tica bus stop. This is the across-country easy bus route. It arrives an hour later but has no room for me. It´s now past 4pm and very late for the border. I find a taxi to take me there as it's only an hour away, he runs out of petrol just as we get there! So I walk the last part and some kid guides me through, lucky as it was very easy to get lost and the Tica bus that had no room for me had just arrived so he also jumped me ahead of those 100 people at immigration. I whizzed through immigration! There are no buses past 5pm so I get a cab to San Juan del Sur. I plan on a big night out to make up for the awful day but pass out as soon as I get to the room and don't wake up till the next day, also covered in 100 new mossie bites, due to forgetting to put repellent on.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb