First Days of School


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Guanacaste » Samara
November 26th 2008
Published: November 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

(Posted by Megan 11-24)
Today was the first day of class. Phew! I didn’t realize that there was so much information to learn about teaching. We had a lesson on classroom environment and then a lesson on lesson plans… I have a feeling we just scratched the surface on both of those topics. Then the last 3 hours we worked on building lesson plans for our first class. Which for some of the students is TOMORROW!! Yikes, I’m so glad that’s not me!! John is teaching on Wednesday and I (lucky me) am not teaching until Thursday. We get to observe the other teachers and also go over our lesson plans with our teachers before we teach. I really enjoyed the class today and John said he enjoyed it for the most part. I kept alternating between “Wow, I can do this! I’m going to enjoy it!!” and “Ugh, I’m going to SUCK at this and HATE it!! What have I gotten myself into!!??” John says he's on the same roller coaster I'm on.



(Posted by Megan 11-26)
Wow time flies!! We have been SO busy with class that we haven’t hardly had anytime for anything else! John’s class is tonight and he says he feels pretty much ready for it, but he’s had a hard time coordinating with his teaching partner. I haven’t even talked to mine yet because she had to teach yesterday so she’s been pretty busy. I’ve got most of our lesson plan done, we just need to get together and fine-tune it and get her input. We’ll have some time later this afternoon to do that.

I like our teachers a lot. I think they’re great teachers and they’re very fun and supportive. There are twelve of us in the class and we are split into two groups so we’ve only really gotten to know half of our classmates. I think I might go surfing for the first time on Saturday with one of them named Chad. He’s a beginner too, but he’s really friendly and fun. I’d go in the mornings before class, but unfortunately, its low tide in the mornings. The waves here aren’t crushers anyway, so at low tide they’re pretty much too small to surf on. Supposedly it costs about $4-$6 per hour to rent a board and around $40 for a lesson. I’m going to go see what it’s like first, then maybe get one (possibly two) lessons and then after that just do it on my own.

Well back to lesson planning for now!


Advertisement



26th November 2008

Are you teaching English to ticos? Whats your class that oyur teaching too like? Good luck John! - Joe
27th November 2008

We are so glad to hear things are going well
Well we are hanging out tonight getting ready for Thanksgiving tomorrow. We sure miss you but I am so glad things seem to be going well. I can't wait to read how John's class went tonight. Good luck tomorrow Megan. Let us know.
27th November 2008

Happy Thanksgiving
You'll do great today seester. I'm sure you'll both make fine teachers. But surfing? Not so sure, sounds like hellafun though. We just finished eating here. Thanksgiving dinner just wasn't the same w/o you.....

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb