Adios Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So the time has come and I have moved away from Costa Rica, my home for the past 3 years. It was a hard decision to make, and even harder to get all of my belongings packed and onto the airplane. Luckily for me, good-byes were not said because in one month I will be returning for one more week in Coco. Prolonging the inevitable I guess (and who couldn't use one more week of diving, surfing and sun).

Most of my best memories can not be put into words or described in with a photo, they can only be felt in my heart,
I experienced many things and met many wonderful people in Costa Rica.

When I first arrived there was only one thing I could say in Spanish, "Soy estadounidense. No como carne pero me gustan las galletas." - "I am from the US. I don't eat meat, but I love cookies." And now after 3 years, 3 million dishes of rice and beans I can still say, I don't eat meat and I still love cookies - oh and yeah, and I know a lot more spanish.

Enjoy these photos and check back periodically
Dive Site MooringDive Site MooringDive Site Mooring

Mooring for the dive site "Tortuga" or in English "Turtle". The gulf of Papagayo Dive Site Mooring Project is a project I helped start a few years ago to minimize the need for boats to set achors on the reefs. New moorings are still being made when sufficient donations have accumulated.
to this webpage because after a trip to the mountains, Puerto Rico and the British Virgin Islands, I don't know where I will end up next...

Cheers and keep in touch!!


More about my time in Costa Rica:

This is an article from when I was working with sea turtles
http://www.tortugamarina.org/images/stories/pdf/tico%!t(MISSING)imes%!-(MISSING)01-05.pdf

PRETOMA website - a great Costa Rican organization that works towards marine conservation. Projects include sea turtles, sharks and sustainable fisheries to name a few.
www.tortugamarina.org

Another article about a beach cleanup I organized
http://www.navegalo.com/noticias/notPrint.php?id=7053&fot0=





DID YOU KNOW...

You would save 50 gallons of water a week by turning off the shower while you shampoo and conditioner your hair.

One American individual generates about 1600 pounds of trash EVERY year.

1 million trees are saved when you buy a package of recycled paper napkins instead of the non recycled varieties.

If every single person ate organic, 10 million pounds of pesticides would not be used annually.

12 million barrels of oil are used used each year to produce plastic shopping bags.

14 million trees used annually to produce paper shopping bags.

Most important: Your daily actions CAN make a difference



MUST SEE!!!

The movie Sharkwater comes out in March in Canada and in November in the US.
www.sharkwater.com
This movie finally tells the true story about sharks and how humans are pushing them to extinction. I know many of you have heard me speak about the problems the world shark populations are facing but we still need to change their image from fearful man eating animals to a species that is crying for help. Without sharks the oceans ecosystem could be seriously altered.
Plus this is a good action packed film with footage in Costa Rica. If it really touches you and you want to help, visit the PRETOMA webpage listed above.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Fire DancingFire Dancing
Fire Dancing

My friend Felo fire dancing at a beach bonfire.
Jesy and the bootsJesy and the boots
Jesy and the boots

"I think these will fit"


21st March 2007

We are gonna miss you very very much!... and Felo is going to be very happy when he knows you put one of his pictures in your blog... you know how exited he gets when it comes to watching himself in every single picture!!!!! Take care and keep in touch, it is always good to keep your frinds close... it doesn't matter if they are thousands of miles away!!!! :)
18th April 2007

Found it!!! Good luck and now we stay up to date, have fun in the BVI with the cat. Martin en Brenda http://www.travelblog.org/Bloggers/Martin-en-Brenda
13th August 2007

yay for us!
I'm sure you made as much of an impression on Costa rica as it did on you!! Can't wait to see you. The journey never ends it just changes direction. luv you! Alli

Tot: 0.39s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb