Rincon de la Vieja


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I settled down for two nights at a very nice camping spot called El Sol Verde. The facilities suited my needs perfectly and the Dutch couple that owns and runs this show were extremely helpful. The maps they gave me showed me precisely where to find everthing worth seeing in the immediate area so I made a day out of that and had a great time. I hiked a 2.5 mile loop trail in Rincon de la Vieja national park that featured a couple of waterfalls and about a dozen thermal features. It was no Yellowstone but neither is there a jungle in Wyoming. I bathed in the Rio Negro hot springs afterwards to soak away any pain their might have been from the hike. I spent a couple of hours there and had the whole place to myself. It's times like these that the mind wanders. I genuinely liked this place but I have to say that the best part of it was the cold showers that they provided to rinse yourself off and cool you down after you have been superheated to a proper shade of crimson. I might have skipped the hotsprings and gone directly for the showers because I was crimson enough before I got here. The hotsprings are just a tad hotter than the average ambient air temperature in Central America and the relative humidity is approximatelythe same. Central America doesn't need no freaking hotsprings! The fact that there are so many in this part of the world should be no surprise. The oppressive heat and humidity that beats down on the land day after day has to leak out somewhere sooner or later. The fact that tourists flock to these sites and pay big bucks to indulge themselves there should be absurd. I'll not pay to bathe in another hot springs on this trip. Why should I? I am a hot springs. If I lift a finger or think too hard in this heat, I start to flow. That's how it is. If they want me to pay, they should set up a block of ice and invite me to sit on it. I'd pay for that. And I don't need to see any more steaming fumaroles either. I've seen enough. I'd be really impressed to see one blowing snow, though. That would be awesome!

Advertisement



2nd May 2011

Hot Springs & Fumaroles
Glad you found a Toyota garage to get your vehicle serviced. The "Pacific Ring of Fire" that runs along the west coast of Central America (&USA and S. America) gives you those hot springs, volcanoes and fumaroles. Lived with those in Chile for a couple of years, but also had snow and Humboldt Current penguins that far south. Still vicariously enjoying your observations (not to mention dead companions, etc.!). Keep 'em comin'!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb