Busy with Lessons


Advertisement
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mural of the Orosi ValleyMural of the Orosi ValleyMural of the Orosi Valley

This shows what the people in this valley have been doing for a very long time.
Hi!

This week has been busy with lessons every day and meeting some of the new people who have come to the school to study this week. I have also had lots of homework and so haven´t taken many pictures.

I feel a little better speaking Spanish in Orosi, but today I took the bus to Cartago which is a much bigger city and it is difficult to talk and understand with all the hustle and bustle. The bus is a nice ride through one city that is bigger than Orosi, Parasio and then on to Cartago. Cartago is the name of the city and the provence (sp?) that I am in. It is also the county seat and was at one time the capital of Costa Rica. I have come looking for Spanish Books and to see the large church that is here. The church is the Basilica de Nuestra Señora de los Angeles (or Negrita for short) where the catholics can make a pilgrimage every August 1.

I got a chance to talk to Rich yesterday using a calling card. I called him at work and he says all is fine at home except for the
Cool Colored HouseCool Colored HouseCool Colored House

Wouldn´t you like a purple house?
low temps he had one morning. I was unable to get him to pick up at home and we have figured out that the phone was not working.

I am getting a little homesick for my nice house with water pressure and as much hot water as I want. The showers in Costa Rica are generally of the Suicide Shower Type where there is a electric heater near the shower head that heats some water to mix with the cold water from the pipes. I usually try to shower in the late afternoon when it is warmer since a HOT shower is out of the question. Also, I have been sleeping on the floor which isn´t too uncomfortable, but is really dusty.

Today I had planned on taking a bike ride to Tapanti National Park and the Marcos lent me a bike that belongs to his oldest daughter, Leidy. The seat was rock hard and the bike was kind of small. As I was starting out for my ride it started raining. So I scrapped that idea and took the bus to Cartago. I will try again next week.

I´ll write more later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Gator HouseGator House
Gator House

This house is a nice blue and has tile in the front that is orange. Both houses on this entry are unusual because they don´t have bars around them.


Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb