Lessons and Exercise


Advertisement
Published: April 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rio MachoRio MachoRio Macho

We see and hear (note the rocks) the river every day on our walks on the edge of town.
Hey Everyone!

Every morning I have been walking with Marita around Orosi. Marita is the mother of the family in Orosi. We have been walking every morning for at least an hour. I will try to post some pictures of the Rio Mache which is the river that runs near the town. The town gets its electricity from the river via a hydroelectric plant near the town and the river. Our walks are always around the river. There is a foot bridge that is very scary to walk on since it is a suspension bridge and it sways when we walk across the river.

Now I am finding it hard to find the words to write here since I have struggled all afternoon in Spanish Conversation. My teacher says that I am coming along ¨poco y poco¨ or little by little. I have to write a small story every day and have grammar exercises to complete each day. I struggle a lot but most people are patient and do try to speak with me. It is one thing to know the vocabulary (which I feel okay about) but entirely another thing to string the things you want to say into sentences. I am working on speaking in the past tense which will require much more study.

This weekend is a 3 day weekend for the Costa Ricans, or Ticos, for short. On Monday they celebrate the death of a national hero Juan Santamaria. So on Monday the family is having a party for the children at the hot springs near Orosi since they have no school. I also will have 3 days without lessons and so must catch up and review my grammar and vocabulary. Hopefully I will be able to make a dessert or some other thing to bring to the party.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb