First Day in Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: May 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My schoolhouseMy schoolhouseMy schoolhouse

The school I attend
Hey!!

Well, Im here!! I arrived safe and sound and now im sitting in an internet cafe in Turriabal. Carlos (the driver from the company) met me at the airport. Took me to the bus station where I waited fr the bus to Turrialba. The ride was very much like the ride from the airport in Dominica to Ross (for those of you who have been in Dominica--very narrow and curvy) My tico mother met me at the bus station and took me home. She is a cute little lady, doesnt speak a lick of English! Communication was a little dicey, but she is very patient. KEYBOARDS ARE DIFFERENT HERE IN CR, SO BEAR WITH MY ODD PUNCTUATION

My tico mama, has a son nelson who stays in the house and has a little boy (about Olivias age) he has some friends over last night to watch the championship soccer match....they wwere very animated. theyre team lost. so, then i had dinner, some sort of smothered beef in a pepper/tomato sauce over rice--pretty good. along with salad, beans, and ice cream. My room is a cute tiny space with just enough room for a bed (nicely made
ClassroomClassroomClassroom

A typical classroom
in pink and a desk, and a wardrobe like the one in my room at home.) after dinner i went to bed and slept pretty well, considering my only air conditioning was the fan, all in all, i wasnt hot (more than i can say for some nights at home)

this morning mama vargas made me breakfast of some sort of corn meal thing baked in banana leaves and a bowl of mango (im not a big fan of mango, but i ate it anyway--my mom raised me better than to turn down food.) than she walked me to the school, only about 10 minutes from the house, again this place is very much like Dominica, just with wider streets and spanish people.

I had lunch with the other students, a big plate of chicken, rice, beans, pasta, chick peas and salad, all for $1700 colones or about $4.00 dollars. Then we had a tour of town, which is about a 20 minute walk from the house. Very similar to Dominica where the sidewalks will disappear in fromn of you and give way to dirt form time to time. closer to town the infrastructure is more reliable. but
Mama Tica...Mama Tica...Mama Tica...

My Mama Tica, she's so sweet
all the roads are well maintained.

My spanish lesson was good. there are 4 students (incuding me( here. only 2 of us in a class!! i think ill learn, but it will be challengng at times, but they all tell me that 4 weeks is plenty of time to really pick up the language. Since its rainy season, it will rain (heavy downpours at 3-4pm) and then taper off during the nights. thus far, no rain today but its pushing 4 oclock and im waiting for the sky to open up. the other student (a 19year old girl from SOUTH Georgia--because apparently when you are from South Georgia you want everyone to know it) is gonna show me how to use the computer to put pix up on my blog site. Thats it for today!! Later tongiht the school is having a evening drink at a restaurant at 8pm, so im gonna go home and rest before heading out. I miss you all--lpb


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

househouse
house

My Tico House
foodfood
food

A typical meal, yes, its all for me
meme
me

Me, after repelling down waterfalls and zip-lining thru the rainforests
plantsplants
plants

Plants i pass while walking to school
plantsplants
plants

plants I pass while walking to school
plants3plants3
plants3

Coffee beans in the raw--the seeds are sweet
Cacao plantCacao plant
Cacao plant

Cacao, or chocolate plant. Taste's good and sweet, with a hint of coco
plants4plants4
plants4

Prickly plant
plants 5plants 5
plants 5

Inside of the prickly plant
guyabaoguyabao
guyabao

Ancient road built in BC times...in a rainforest downpour


22nd May 2007

Wow! From the looks of things its probably a good thing that theres only 2 of you in the class!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb