Day One in San Ramon


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Eight years ago on June 5th, I first stepped foot in Costa Rica with no intention of leaving. I left on May 28th 2012 to work on some projects in the US. That lasted about 14th months. I was able to get the full cycle of seasons in Washington, DC and then some, including a fairly mild and virtually snow-free winter and a summer-and-an-half of some blistering heat (at times). Even though this past winter was mild--certainly by most Washingtonians' standards--it was still too cold for me. I decided that if I can help it, I will never live in a place with a winter again. Winter in Costa Rica is the rainy season or "green season," and green (in it's many forms), is good enough for me. The white stuff, nope, don't want that ever again!

First Day Impressions...

Day One was uneventful. The flights were fast and comfortable, and immigration and customs were a breeze. I will say, though, especially for fellow expats, immigration is now fairly regularly asking to see a ticket out of the country. So if you are a "perpetual tourist," (which isn't advisable), be prepared to show at least some type of ticket
Little homesLittle homesLittle homes

A view of some homes in Bajo Zuniga, a small pueblo near San Ramon
going onwards from Costa Rica, whether it's a plane ticket, bus ticket, etc., or else they may not let you into the country.

As I expected during this time of year, it was indeed raining when I arrived in Los Angeles Sur (5km north of San Ramon) to set up my house for my next phase of life as an expat. I did notice, however--or really had forgotten--just how quiet it is up here. I mean I heard nothing:no ambulances, no street chatter, no honking horns, not a thing. Now, my old neighborhood in DC wasn't very noisy but my street abutted the main route for the hospital so I heard ambulances running ill or injured people to the hospital.

I did notice as the rain continued off and one for a while and fog banks rolled in and out, that it is definitely soupy up here. The humidity is high and it's damp. Now, this is not unfamiliar to me as I live up here in the hills above San Ramon at about 4000 feet for a long time. Besides the dampness, you really don't feel heat and humidity as you do at the beach, due to the elevation. San Ramon is considered overall a bit cooler and wetter than other Central Valley towns however I'll take this climate over some of the adjacent towns because year round we have temperatures that barely go north of 80 degrees and usually hover around 75 degrees. What this means is no heat or air conditioning is needed. A fireplace isn't a bad thing to have on those damp, rainy nights during the green season, but otherwise it's pretty damn perfect temperature wise.

Time to rest...

Having gotten up at 5am EDT Saturday for my flight here and then finally settling down at 8pm Costa Rica time (after unpacking) I was pretty beat. I fell asleep to gently falling rain around 9pm. It was a good day--I got here--now I'm ready to get on with things. More soon.

Pura Vida!



Andrew

P.S. A few early morning San Ramon photos are contained within.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Palm treesPalm trees
Palm trees

Palm trees make me happy...
View_houseView_house
View_house

View from the house looking onto the lawn ( obviously).


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb