Thanksgiving break part I


Advertisement
Published: November 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

I can’t even begin to express how good it feels to be able to understand nearly everything I hear in the streets or conversations I have with people. I may not be able to speak as well as I wanted to be able to, but it amazes me how much more I am able to understand these days.

I thought I would be bored these past few days without my friends in town, but I have kept myself pretty busy! It has been quite the experience roaming the streets of San Ramon by myself and making conversation with random people. I have run quite a few errands, and got a lot of things done.

I am not ready to come home. The only reason I am excited to come home it too see everyone. If you all could come here and live too, it would be perfect! Practice up on that Spanish! : )

These past few days have made me realize how much I am going to miss my host family. I have been spending more time with them lately and am starting to really feel like a part of the family. I don’t get nervous anymore speaking Spanish to them anymore and can relax and enjoy my time with them.

Friday was my first day of Thanksgiving break! I joined my host mom and her mom on a trip to San Jose. My host mom wanted to go so she could buy stuff cheap and bring it back to San Ramon and sell it for more. In San Jose there are bunches of street vendors. Alejandra’s Mom, Carmen, kept buying me random stuff. She would be like, ‘oh, how cute. Jennifer you need this!’-only in Spanish. Later we met up with Alejandra’s sister, Alexa, who is 20 years old and spent the last month studying in New York. I really like both my host grandma and Alexa.

We went to a store called ‘Pequeno Mundo.’ It kind of reminded me of Ikea, but Costa Rica style and with clothes. Here my mom bought millions of baby clothes for 1 mil or two dollars. I was wishing my sister or someone I knew was pregnant because there was so much cute stuff I wanted to buy! I bought myself a swimsuit for 4$.

Saturday I taught my little sister how to use the webcam on her computer. She didn’t even know she had it and is now obsessed with it. In the afternoon we went into town to look around. We ended up at my host mom’s little store she is opening for the holiday season. She sells underwear, bras, Victoria secret perfumes and lotions, and the baby/toddler clothes: quite the combination. The rest of the day I worked with Ashley on our final presentation for service learning, all the while eating French fries, nachos, and cheesecake. We are so healthy.

Sunday afternoon I went with my host family to Carmen, my host grandma’s house, for lunch and cafecita. All of her siblings were there and I had a nice little conversation with her older brother who is 73. When he was leaving he told me ‘Tu eres la gringa mas preciosa en el mundo!’ Which means I am the most precious white person in the world- how nice! :P Afterwards, I met up with Rachel to make chocolate rice krispy treats and do our nails. So yummy and I now have mint, pink, and purple leopard print nails : ).

Yesterday I slept in until 9, had breakfast and met Rachel at the gym at 10. Her boyfriend got in yesterday at 3 and she left for Montezuma to meet up with our other friends after that. After the gym, I went to a swimsuit store that is owned by a cousin of my host mom and bought a super cute swim suit top: ) I basically just explored the streets of San Ramon all afternoon. I even FINALLY discovered a place that is supposed to be able to fix mom’s camera! (They called my last night and told me they actually couldn’t fix it but when I went back in there this morning to get it they told me they were going to try one more thing… Let’s hope it works!) UPDATE: they could not fix it. After dinner I played Monopoly with Fernanda all night. I am not very fond of that game…

Today has been about the same as yesterday: gym and exploring. I am currently sitting in a Café awaiting my 3:30 appointment for a pedicure.

On a lighter note, Raemi and Ian get here in two days!!!!!! I am SOOOO excited!

21/11/12: I didn’t have internet at the café yesterday, so I couldn’t post this- so I will just add on to it about today : )

This morning at the gym I met a basketball player on the San Ramon team. Last year, San Ramon won the national championship! How cool is that! Their season starts this Saturday, I am excited to have the opportunity to go to one of their games! I think it will be really fun.

On my way to the gym, I stopped into a shoe repair store and got my belt re-sewn for a dollar! I also bought a button that I am hoping will match a missing on one of my shirts! Once again I am currently sitting at Aromas with a Frappe and French fries attempting to do homework- but it isn’t working out so well… I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of Raemi and Ian tomorrow morning! And Thanksgiving.

Happy Thanksgiving!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb