18/9/12


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » San Ramon
September 18th 2012
Published: September 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last night I went out with some friends. ‘Monday night madness.’ A couple girls have host brothers our age, so we went to their house to hang out. They taught us slang and badwords in Spanish and we taught them the equivalent in English. It’s funny how different slang is here than slang that I have previously learned.

This morning I had to get up at 5:30 in order to make it to my community service school by 7. WAY TOO EARLY. It took us about 35-40 minutes to walk there and by the time we got there, I was really sweaty. CEN San Pedro, as it is called, is a preschool for low income families. I was surprised to hear that, after seeing the kids- they were all well groomed and well dressed.

I was helping a little boy, named Jason, put a puzzle together and he invited me to his house after school. I told him I couldn’t go and he asked me if tomorrow would work better. I said I wouldn’t be able to go tomorrow either and he told me his mom says they have really good coffee, so I should go. I couldn’t help but laugh.

Right of the bat, the cutest little girl with ringlets took a liking to me. I think she is the youngest one there, because she is smaller than all of the other kids and doesn’t talk as much or as well as them. Everyone was leaving the classroom to head to the kitchen area for breakfast and she was still standing in the classroom. I bent down, facing her, so I could be at her level to talk to her. Her face lit up and she literally jumped into my arms to give me a hug. I am not sure I have ever seen anything so cute and precious. She was so excited to give me a hug, even though that’s not what I was expecting.

All of the kids are so cute, nice, and respectful. It’s fun to talk with them because even when you say something stupid or wrong, they don’t care or even understand- they just keep on talking to you.

After going to the gym today, we stopped by the new McDonalds “Postres” (desserts) place. There was a line about 20 people deep, but it was worth the wait.. I had an M&M/Oreo McFlurry, which was more like a sundae with Oreo’s and M&M’s on top. Mmm.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb