Butterfly Dances Property for Sale


Advertisement
Published: October 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

October 4

It's Thursday morning in Atenas. I'm sitting at an internet cafe lined with 7 slow computers and 5 young school girls dressed in their standard light blue uniforms. I don't know why they aren't in school right now. Anyway, I trekked through the jungle the last two days, but not on a guided rain forest tour. I'm looking at possible real estate investments. The first place was down a rocky road where we parked my Toyota Echo, then walked - then a farmer-land owner we ran into drove us around in his 4 wheel drive truck. I've got videos, of course. I wasn't too impressed with the land I went to look at. It's in the early, early stages of development by Mauricio, Jo Ha's husband. But then Efrain, the farmer-land owner, said he might parcel off some of his land. I'm supposed to call him.

But then we went down to that same land the next day with Mauricio and Jo Ha, and traipsed through the jungle again. And the car got stuck numerous times, and Maricio almost fell in a river, and I've it all on video. And on the drive back, I decided to drive up a road that had a sign on the Pan American Highway saying - Ocean View Lots. And let me tell you - they were ocean view lots, and the lots already have roads, electricity and water. And they're selling for about 50K. The name of the development is Butterfly Dances. So once again we traipsed through a lesser jungle, and I did my part in preserving the rain forest - I personally fed the insects.

The lots seem to be such a good deal that even Mauricio is probably going to buy one or two. The developer is from the U.S., and appears to be totally legit and quite honest. I drove around in his truck with him a lot. The contracts are all in English, and each lot already has it's own corporation ready to go. That's how you buy stuff down here - as a corporation. I've got pics and videos of everything but it's a pain uploading them on these slow computers, and I'm not sure anyone is even viewing them, so I'll probably wait before I post them.

I may not be home now until next week, because I'm giving Mauricio a few days to make his decision because I told him I wouldn't snatch the two best lots. Half of them are already sold, so we're searching through the rest for the best. In case anyone is wondering if I'm planning to live down here, the answer is a pura 'no.' If I buy, I'm only buying for an investment. I have only so much blood to give to the rain forest.

http://www.journeysbypaul.com/ for more stories and pics

paul


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Lot 13Lot 13
Lot 13

Thinking about buying this lot overlooking the Pacific and Puntarenas


Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb