Feliz ano nuevo


Advertisement
Published: January 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy new year to all! I hope that everyone enjoyed their evening...I sure did. We went to this huge discoteque called Volcan look, this place that holds around 3000 people, complete with dancers, fly girls, etc. I think I fell in love 30 times within the first 15 minutes. I met a local girl who came back in to town with me to hang out, so we went to a few bars and met the locals, ringing in the new year with guarro shots and Imperial beers. I stayed out way too late, but the experience was like nothing I have ever seen before. Plus, it helps to have a girlfriend in a nice resort town, I just hope she knows I'm never coming back! The next morning, we woke up, got on the bus and went to the base of Volcan Arenal, an active volcano that has been belching ash and lava for the last 35 years. We took a hike up through the dense cloud forest at the base, eventually making our way up to dried lava flows, where we ate lunch to the soundtrack of mother nature throwing a hissy fit. Large, car size boulders of pyroclastic material spewed from the crater, tumbling down the mountain side with loud thuds and fire in their wake. By far the coolest place I've ever eaten lunch in my life. After the hike, we came back into town, where I met some other young travellers who were staying at my hostel. I went out and had an awesome chicken from the local rotisserie, then we took the bus to Baldi hot springs, a cool resort with about ten or twelve different hot spring pools, complete with swim up bar and towel service. Pretty cool place, but way too expensive for my taste. After dinner, it was back to the local hangout, a bar shaped like a volcano, where some of my local friends work. They are trying to learn better English, so we help each other and try to improve our linguistic skills over a few cervezas. I called it an early night and headed back to the hostel to catch fome sleep, knowing that I have a 6 hour bus ride today over to the Peninsula de Nicoya, where we will stay in Playa Grande for 3 nights...

Advertisement



3rd January 2006

let's go fishin'
Yo Brian, looks like I will be down in Playa Zancudo for a fishing tournement the week of Jan 29th - Feb 4th. Try to come join us for a day or 2 if you can - great concert on the island the night of Feb 2nd (Taj Mahal and others). You might even want to invite your dad. Have fun, alan

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb