Jet-Lagged Rooster


Advertisement
Published: December 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Happy Winter Solstice!

I don't have time for a long entry -- we are in the foothills of Volcano Arenal (the most active volcano in the country, if not the continent) in the northwest part of Costa Rica and everything is great except for the rooster with jet-lag, the klyptomaniac toucans and the monkeys that pull Ari's hair.

The Instituto Asis is beautiful, small private nature reserve that does a few different things -- mainly it cares for injured animals and does community environmental education. As a sideline, it also teaches Spanish. everyone is doing very well and Ari is really picking up a lot of new words. We are staying with a lady in her home a couple miles down the road. Luckily, her daughter lives across the road and has 3 little boys (6, 4 and 2 months). They couldn't wait for our kids to arrive. Even though they speak no English and Ari little Spanish, that doens't stop them from having a great time playing (and getting filthy).

For the weekend (Christmas) we are going with a family, the guy that runs the institute and a few others to their farm near the Nicaragua border. Should be great.

That's all I have time for now -- I'll explain about the rooster next time.

Advertisement



21st December 2005

wow
everything sounds simply terrific...I am really living your adventure vicariously and smile as I read your blog.
21st December 2005

You are both nuts.
As I sit in my NY office for long hours reviewing documents, I then read your blogs and realize that you are the only people I know who would do something this insane. Then I see a picture of your apartment, and it is bigger and nicer than my NY apartment. I guess if you want a real adventure, come to NY. I love Costa Rica, and hope you see the water safari near the Nicaragua border. There is a great place in the cloud forest you guys will love as well. Good luck. P.S. As a father of two, I particularly like references to kids being cranky, difficult, funny, wonderful, tired, hungry, etc. Makes it all so real.
21st December 2005

sounds terrific
You can see from the comments on the last two blogs that lots of us yanquis anxiously await each new entry. So, keep them coming, even if they are just quick notes that you manage to squeeze in between fighting off the monkeys and chasing toucans.
24th December 2005

All is well on Fairfield Road! & in Costa Rica!!
Everything sounds wonderful and the pictures are fantastic! We will be keeping an eye on the blog and your family adventure in Costa Rica. The holidays are upon us and it is a great time to be thankful for all that we have both near and far! I’m sure the experience you gain will always be cherished and never replaced - you must continue to share with us all. Be safe and we will see you soon! Happy Holidays! Bruce – Stacy – Bruce and Brendan!
30th December 2005

Hi ex pats: everything sounds great. meanwhile Yardley is hopping...I went to breakfast with Michelle...she had whitefish, I had eggs...need I say more. Back to school on the 3rd but hospital here I come...tell anyone you care about to keep their animals away from penn for at least several months. Love and hugs and kisses, chrissy et al.
2nd January 2006

Happy New Year. You adventure sounds like so much fun. Lauryn asks me all the time how Ellie is doing and I show her the great pictures. Continue to have a blast. Stay safe.Hugs and kisses Eileen and Mitch and kids.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb