Last Entry Until I Return to the States


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

Today is going to have to be the last day that I write. Tomorrow we leave for Arenal (the volcano) where I will not have any internet access. Then on Sunday from the volcano I will be going straight to Roble Alto, where we will be doing our volunteering for the last week. In Roble Alto we will staying with children who have been taken away from their family for various reasons (death of parents, parents do not have enough money to care for them, etc). All of us will be eating breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the children. While the kids are in school during the day we will be building them a new dorm and painting older dorms. I believe that this will be an enriching experience for all of us. I am so excited to get away from all of these classes we have been taking and instead spend time with care free children. I am sure I will have a ton of funny stories when I get back.

Wednesday was an interesting day with Laura Guzman. Going into the slums of Costa Rica was quite an experience. I have never seen so much trash in the streets. It is also rainy season here so the trash was all wet and gross. The houses of the people who lived there were made of boxes and dirt. Their ceilings consisted of old boxes and metal that they could find laying around. What hit me the hardest was to see all of the school children in the streets. No one deserves to live like that. We have it so good in the United States it’s unbelievable.

Yesterday (Thursday) was like always another busy day. We woke up, had Spanish class (shocker), and then got ready to go out with Laura Guzman for one last time. We went with Laura to visit a women´s co op. The women in this group came together to get out of the Costa Rican typical house wife stereotype. They received grants from some organizations and started their own organic cosmetic company. That was over 15 years ago, today they have 2 miles by 2 miles of land with various herbs and plants that they use to make their products. It was amazing to see what these women have done for themselves. The cosmetics were also very inexpensive (like everything else is here). I bought some to bring home, so anyone who is interested just let me know. After visiting with the women, we went and had dinner with the US Ambassador of Costa Rica at his house. It was fun, but I felt uncomfortable in such a nice house in my rain boots!!

Tonight the Spanish Academy is having a farewell party for all of us students. I have heard from many people that this party is more like a feast. All of our Spanish teacher will be there. It should be a lot of fun. After the farewell dinner, a bunch of girls thought that it would be fun for all of us to go out dancing and call it "Rachel´s Bachelorette Party"....I don’t know about this, but we will see how it goes 😊

To tell you the truth I am actually really sad to be leaving my Tico family. These past 2 weeks have just flown by. They have all been so good to me and have taught me so much about myself and their culture. I am eternally grateful to my Mom and Dad in the States for giving me this opportunity and to my Tico Mom and Dad for caring for me while I have been here. Also thank you to all of my friends who have kept me from getting homesick through emails daily. I love you all!!!

I will update as soon as I get back to the States on June 8th! Also, be looking out for A LOT of pictures to be posted when we get back. All of the people who went on this trip are going to upload their pictures to my photobucket account. That way everyone can see them in one location.

XOXOXOXO
Rachel


Advertisement



1st June 2008

yay!
It sounds like you have just had an amazing time and I know the experience with the children is going to be even better. I can't wait to hear details about the ambassador's dinner and about all of the people you have met. What an experience?! Have I mentioned how proud I am of you for taking advantage of such an amazing opportunity. Can't wait for you to come home and get down to Raleigh for a visit. We love you so much. Layne

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb