Tico Style Washer How - To


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
February 21st 2013
Published: February 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Here is a short and simple photo tutorial on how to use a tico-style washing machine. I used this washer for the first 6 weeks while living in Costa Rica so I got lots of practice. While I did manage to sucessfully get my clothes clean using it, I am very grateful to have an automated washer and dryer now hooked up to use. The tico washer usually took at me between half an hour to an hour to get through all of my clothes. Then I would have to go hang them all to dry. The washer I currently have takes just a minute of my time to start a load and does all the washing without my involvement.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

laundry 1 turn on faucetlaundry 1 turn on faucet
laundry 1 turn on faucet

To begin, you need to manually turn on the water to fill the wash tub.
laundry 2 add soap and clotheslaundry 2 add soap and clothes
laundry 2 add soap and clothes

Once the tub is full and you've added some soap, you can add clothes! This tub is small so I had to work in small batches. It has an agitator but it barely giggled the clothes so most of the time I just swished them around myself.
laundry 3 put into spinnerlaundry 3 put into spinner
laundry 3 put into spinner

This little spinner works great to get all of the extra water out of the clothes - IF you balance it properly and close the lid just right to get the switch to turn it on.
laundry 4 fill bucket to rinselaundry 4 fill bucket to rinse
laundry 4 fill bucket to rinse

Time to rinse, here's the tool you'll need.
laundry 5 pour water into spinner to rinselaundry 5 pour water into spinner to rinse
laundry 5 pour water into spinner to rinse

After you've spun the clothes, pour a bucket of clean, non-soapy water over them and then give them a final spin to get rid of excess water.
laundry 6 some spot treating requiredlaundry 6 some spot treating required
laundry 6 some spot treating required

As I mentioned earlier, the agitator doesn't really work so if you have a spot on your clothes, you'll need to scrub that out by hand.
laundry 7 dry on clothes linelaundry 7 dry on clothes line
laundry 7 dry on clothes line

Very low tech, but gets the job done!


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb