Meeting up with friends


Advertisement
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm off to Costa Rica to meet Adam, Jayne and Francisco. This trip is going to be fun. I haven't seen anyone from Vancouver since I left. I'm not sure how our travel styles will mesh, but I'm sure we will be fine.

I catch my flight from Quito to Guayaquil--I thought this was a direct flight to San Jose--where we drop some people off and pickup more. I didn't get a free upgrade to business class, but I get a seat in the exit row (lots of extra leg room). Seems like all the airports in South America have an exit tax. Guess each country wants to get a piece of you before you leave.

I arrive at San Jose and head for Immigration. In front of the Immigration room is another room used for queuing. It's empty, so, it looks like this will not take any time at all to get through Immigration. I round the corner and oh my god! The lineup is nuts. By the time I get through Immigration, my luggage is waiting for me off the carousel. That's just nuts! My luggage has never waited for me. It's always been the other way around. I catch a cab to Mi Terra Hotel (more like a hostel than a hotel). My cab driver takes 20 minutes to find the place even though it's only 5 minutes from the airport. The driver didn't know where the hotel was and needed to ask for directions 3 times. Note to self: write down the address of the hotel or hostel. I finally make it to the hotel and I'm greeted by Cisco & Adam. Jayne is still sleeping and trying to recover from the long flight from Vancouver. They have brought me my care package. Woo Hoo! Thanks guys, It's very much appreciated!

After Jayne wakes up, we all head out for an authentic Costa Rican dinner. We call it an early night as everyone, except for me, is a bit tired from their flights. I get about 5 minutes of sleep before I wake up again. Holy Crap! The snoring! It's so loud! I actually get out of my bunk bed and put in my earplugs. I haven't used my earplugs since I started my trip. After I put in my ear plugs I can still hear the snoring but it's not as bad. Can anyone guess who was snoring?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb