Back in the world...


Advertisement
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So this was the vacation I finally got my mom to get back on a plane and take. It was most definitely worth it.

My favorite part of the vacation was renting the mopeds to tour the island on. That is something you HAVE to do if you ever vacation on a small island. We went to sting-ray city which was amazing. we were in the middle of the ocean on a reef where the water went to my stomach (ok that doesnt say much considering I am ridiculously tall haha) but none the less it was so cool. There were stingray swimming all around us and i held one and kissed one haha We also snorkled which was....breathtaking, even underwater. The scene was like something I had only seen in national geographic pictures. There were schools of wildly colored fish who were as interesed in me as I was in them.

Across the street from our hotel was Coconut Joe's. Pretty sweet outdoor bar with lights on the palm trees and a wide screen tv outside. The seats at the bar were genious...they were one person swings...so cool! This is where we met Melvin from Sweeden. He was handsome, let me tell you, made me regret not going down to Coconut Joe's with my parents all those nights.

The downfall of the island was how it was set up for tourists. Everyday at least 5 cruise ships pulled in to dock to let all the people off to go shop at all the touristy shops. At 5 at night they all loaded back up on the ships and sailed into the sunset to their next destination. At around 6 the shops closed down. so from 6 on there was nothing open except bars and restaurants. Where, athough I am legal to drink, not very enjoyable with your parents lol

So I got sunburnt worse than I ever got sunburnt. The back of my leg was purple and blistering and I had to take IBProphen just to walk without pain...not the best of times haha



Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb