Baths with Family and Friends . . .


Advertisement

Before Mel & Brad came to cruise, we’d emailed back and forth about great things to see and do in the ports, good tours, good things to do on your own, my recommendations, their interests, etc. And for our day docked in Tortola, Mel wanted to do as I did last month and head over to The Baths at Virgin Gorda. I’d also mentioned to a bunch of friends how we could get to The Baths on our own and that I’d be going already, so then we ended up with a whole group of us going. Me, Mel & Brad were joined by my friends Jess, Liam & Jill (all dancers) and Craig (social host) and Craig’s family who are also sailing this week.

We met nice and early at the ship’s gangway, then headed out for the short stroll to the ferry dock. When I was here last month it was grey and overcast, but today the sun was shining and the sky was clear. Gorgeous weather. After the half hour ride, we arrived at Virgin Gorda, hopped onto one of the open-air taxis and were off to the Baths.

It was just as gorgeous and stunning the second time. We decided to try and be adventurous - skip past the long line of tourists trying to squeeze along the path - and swim around a bunch of the rocks. I led the pack. The plan was brilliant . . . until we reached the rocks we could climb onto and they were covered with crabs. Huge black creepy crawly crabs. So everyone turned around and headed back to the beach. I was afraid no one would ever follow me again.

So we joined the long cue of tourists waiting to squeeze along the path. A few times we attempted to go off the path and climb along the rocks. I missed having Joe there - both for his knowledge of the best places to leave the path and for his sense of adventure pushing me along. Suddenly I was the adventurous one - a big change from the last time when I was the timid one slowing us down!

Eventually we made it to the far side of the rocks and the beach at Devil’s Bay. Mel, Brad and I spent a long time just hanging out in the water, swimming around, chatting, laughing, playing with the rocks. They decided this was their favourite day so far (and we’ve had some great days, plus they went zip-lining in Antigua yesterday while I caught up on sleep and internet time). But it was a great day . . . the sun, the water, the scenery . . .gorgeous but such fun too.

But our adventure at The Baths was only the beginning of our big huge day! We took the ferry back to Tortola, then set out to find “the South African Party”. A few days ago was South Africa’s Freedom Day, the day they celebrate the release of Nelson Mandella, a huge National Holiday. In Tortola is a shop that sells South African products and a bunch of the South Africans from the ship decided to celebrate Freedom Day at the South African shop in Tortola. Jody insisted that we join them and said we’d be able to find the shop just by asking a local where it was . . . great theory, not so great in practice . . . I asked at least a dozen locals if they knew where the South African shop was. We were sent in one direction that was completely wrong; most locals looked at me like I was crazy and had no idea what I was talking about. As we neared the ship and were ready to give up, I asked two men in a last-ditch attempt and finally found someone who knew where it was! So we located the South African Party, sitting in a nice little garden outside of a wine shop. And we joined them until it was time to return to the ship.

And that’s still only half of our day! Time for me to get to work (cause remember, I do work here too!), then tonight we’re going to Supper Club, I’ll work some more and then there’s a big crew party tonight. Whew . . . I’m going to be wiped after all of this!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Brad Is Jesus.  He Walks On Water.Brad Is Jesus.  He Walks On Water.
Brad Is Jesus. He Walks On Water.

Or at least we thought that would be a funny caption to this photo.


11th May 2008

What a nice way to visit with family and friends. Looks like you had an amazing day with gorgeous weather!

Tot: 1.039s; Tpl: 0.055s; cc: 25; qc: 156; dbt: 0.7664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb