Belize It or Not


Advertisement
Published: April 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I pried myself away from my Bacalar paradise to make the short drive south to the border. I got across the border early in the morning with a lot of help from a transito who did most of the legwork for $10. In spite of a wrong turn that took me on an unplanned tour of a dusty sugar cane field and a battle with ATM machines in Orange Walk that I ultimately lost, I made it to a small village called "Crooked Tree" where I expected to find a campground. After being assured that there was one, I found my way to the only restaurant in the village where I found two Brits who came out here on a lark. They were in a bit of a pickle in that there was no bus going back which meant that they would have to hike the 3.5 miles to the highway in the hot sun. While I did not relish the idea of driving the piece-of-crap side road to Crooked Tree out and back again, I took pity on them and offered a ride because it was something that I could do. This ended up being kind of fun because I picked up two locals for the trip back. It turned out that the woman was an American citizen eligible for SSI and that she had gone to town (Orange Walk) because today is "check day". If that bothers you, it's because your scam doesn't work.

The Audubon Society of Belize has set aside a lot of the land around Crooked Tree for a bird sanctuary. I hiked around a few of the trails at sunset and saw a lot of birds. I think it was the same lot of birds that woke me up the next morning after they had decorated my tent with a lot of excrement. Bye Bye birdies...

Advertisement



5th April 2011

Is the scion now a taxi service?
6th April 2011

Check day...
SSI, check day... Is there a Belize version of Pechin's that she asked you to take her to?

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb