Jan 11-Jan 15


Advertisement
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Hey Hey
Soo Playa Del Carmen was pretty cool. I liked it better than Cancun becasue it is less populated and touristy and bulit up with starbucks and things. So we went and layed on the beach even though it was cloudy it is just so beautiful here we wanted to take it all in. Then we went and had Pina Coladas, they were really expenive more than it costs for a day to eat but we didn't know until it was too later and it wasn't even good but oh well. The bars here are really cool with swings for chairs. On our way back to the hotel we stopped at this cute little family resturant and has Margaritas that this 8 or 9 year old girl made us they were so strong and the ice I bet was sketchy but we didn't get sick there was No Spitting signs in Spanish everywhere there, i'm not sure why and 2 cattle heads on the wall it was really unique. The next day we went to the Tulum Maya Ruins. They were really awesome right on the ocean, and they had tons of tropical plants growing all over them and lots of iguanas everywhere. On the way back it started to pour with rain but we went back to town anyway and got ice cream. Then we went to a fancy resturant with all natrual food it is really really good.
The next day was a horrible travel day. I won't go into too much detail because so much happened. We got up at 5 and began our day. Our tour leader is reatrded and unhelpful so we travelled on the bus for 6 hours to the boarder where the Mexican Customs guy made us all pay $20 American to cross which he then split with our bus driver not very cool. Then we went for 2 more hours through Orange City to Belize City where we were to catch a boat to Caye Caulker. When we arrived there the guy told us to put our bags here so we did and I asked the tour guide and she was like ya put it there so then they put the luggage on the boat and the 3 of us who put our luggage there and we were waiting to get on the boat and they said it was full so I was like no freaking way is my bag going with out me and they said no room for the 3 of us so I was allowed to go by myself to watch the bags. So on the way over one guy asked if this was the last ferry and someone said yes, then I freaked out I was like My F*ing group is on the mainland blah blah blah and the capatain of the boat was like no no its ok we are sending another one so it was all good. Then we finnally arrived at 8 at night and got to eat our first meal of the day I was so hungry and I got lobster is was pretty good. Then we all went to the cool Reggae bar where they have a Vancouver Canucks flag hanging and also the Canada flag. Caye Clauker is so beautiful all sand no cars just golf cart taxi's and bikes but you can walk everywhere. It even has those huge shells on the beach you can hear the ocean with. And they are pretty heavy for their size. The next day I went snorkling on the Belize Barrier Reef which is the 2nd largest in the world but i'm not sure if I believe that. It was so cool tons of fish and sharks and beautiful coarl. The reef even sticks out of the water in some places. On the way back we had a rum punch sail it was wonderful with chips and salsa with lobster in it I got really burn't I didn't think I would b/c the clouds but ya it still hurts so I got some Aloe. Later that night we went and partied it up at the Reggae bar again and we had these great drinks called Monkey La La with baileys, run, bananas, and strawberries all blended, it was soo good but then I hace the Blekin Belize beer which was also wonderful I hope we can get it at home.
The next day was another stupid travel day b/c of the leader again but its ok. On the boat ride to Belize City we got soaked from the rain and massive waves hitting us but we were thankfully allowed to change before the 4 hour bus ride to San Ignacio. We passes tons of farms and also a huge cemetary with all above ground graves. There was also some in the boulavrd between the road. It was weird. So we arrived to our jungle huts and went for a great steak dinner we were all looking for a good hunk of meat after eating so many burrito's and chips. It was raining. I wanted to do the cave and river tubing but because of all the rain the river is too high and dangerous so we just walked around town and hung out at our cool huts. I have one to myself and a beautiful garden out front. This place is cool too because all the plants are labled and have their latin name and uses on them. Tomorrow we are headed to Flores Guatemala. Email me so I know whats going on in your guys lives. OK take care, KVD out.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb