Barton Creek Cave in Cayo District


Advertisement
Published: December 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

chicken bus broke downchicken bus broke downchicken bus broke down

We were rescued 1/2 hour later by another bus.
After a water taxi from Caye Caulker, jaunt to the Belize City bus station, and a chicken bus that broke down enroute, I checked into The Aguada Hotel (4 hours later), located in Santa Elena (sister city to San Ignacio). The Aguada is a great hotel, with a palapa restaurant, pond - it has A/C and a swimming pool - I feel I am living the life of luxury! The grounds are beautifully kept, and include plantain, cactus, coconut, black orchids, palms, Bird of Paradise, ginger flowers, and so many more that I can’t name. Wildlife include bullfrogs, turtles, pigeons, toucans, fish, many birds, and I am told big iguanas (eek! I am trying to stay away from the big trees).

I booked Barton Creek Cave for the next day, and Mandy, Adelin & I were picked up by Harry our guide. The drive was quite long, and the road rather rough. Once through an Amish community, we had the option of wading the river or taking the trail. I was fine with wading, but the girls (wearing shoes) were not into taking them off, or getting wet so we hiked a trail that was definitely not flipflop friendly! Onward and upward!

Mandy and Adelin are so cute to watch. They help each other out tremendously, holding hands, swatting insects off each other. From the time we left the hotel, they inquired a few times about the “bug and creepy crawler” situation in the cave. I am thinking the same thing, but keeping it to myself, as “Harry is gonna have his work cut out for him” runs thru my mind. Haha. We had a hike in through plantain, banana, coconut, orange and grapefruit trees (and many others that I can’t remember). We finally got to Barton Creek which meant another little creek crossing, either by water or by the remnants of a bridge (I think). I am giggling to myself watching Harry watch the girls cross. Too cute!

Just before the cave, we come across someone’s pet spider monkey tethered to a clothesline….how bizarre! The owner says he is tame and I can pet him. After handing Mandy my camera, I timidly walk over to him, crouch down, and extend my hand…I almost needed a diaper as he just jumped right onto me, grabbing my shirt & bra, then attaching himself to my arm, like I am his long lost relative!! It all happen so fast, and Mandy got 2 pix (one of them being a little x-rated - I think he is a breast-monkey…lol).

Into the canoe we go, the timid girls in the centre, myself in front with the floodlight, and Harry manning the paddle in the rear. What an incredible cave! There are Mayan artifacts, as well as a very old skull (600 BC). Very eerie in there, with the only sound being Harry’s paddle. I have to say that I was a little nervous being in the canoe with those girls as they could easily be panicked. I think all it would have taken was a bat flying too close, and we would have been in!! (Yes, there were many bats!) We went about a km into the cave and turned around when it got to be too tight to go any further. I took many pictures, but have only included a few here. Hopefully, they give you an idea of how great it all was!

I am enjoying listening to the bullfrogs at night, and being awoken by the gentle cooing of the pigeons who appear to have a home quite close to my window. Life is great!





Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb