ATM- Cave of the Stone Sepulchre


Advertisement
Published: March 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Our last sight of daylightOur last sight of daylightOur last sight of daylight

Looking out from inside the cave
One thing that I absolutely love about Galen is the emphasis they place on taking fieldtrips. In the past weeks I have taken many, but the one I am about to describe is stand alone. I did not think I would have the privelege to attend, as I am not in the course, though had inquired earlier. My roommates had left earlier for the adventure of a lifetime as far as I was concerned, and I was still lying about mentally preparing for the day (i.e. wishing I was still asleep, but thinking about getting up for breakfast).

Imagine my surprise when my friend peers in the window, pops his head in, and shrieks, "ATM, now!" What is this ATM, that could be so exciting you wonder. Here in Cayo, ATM is synonomous with Actun Tunichil Muknal in Roaring Creek, Belize. The cave itself is a 3km journey into the underworld of Belize and holds many ancient Maya relics that have been left for the admiration of the adventurers who tour there. The only way to get into the cave is by swimming in and following the winding river up into the depths of the cave, which culminates in the, "cathedral."

With time only to jump out of bed, I got dressed, and grabbed my camera, forgetting this was an all day excursion. Thanks to the generosity of others I did not starve to death however. After what seemed like hours in the back of a pick-up truck, we finally arrived to begin the rest of the trip on foot. After a short hike in, and a refreshing dip, we began our journey into the cave. I don't think a smile was removed from my face the entire day, nor was my camera.

We spent nearly four hours exploring the depths of ATM, privy to many ancient relics, 2 skulls, and an intact skeleton, that was not fake for once. Because this was a course fieldtrip, out tour guide just happened to be the Director of Archeology here in Belize. Though, he did take it upon himself to make sure we saw many things that we probably wouldn't have seen otherwise. I suspect he may do this for his own amusement purposes as we soon found ourselves wedging through caverns that weren't fit for small children in pursuit of intact pottery among other things.

We spent
The Crystal MaidenThe Crystal MaidenThe Crystal Maiden

Intact human skull from the Maya civilization
many hours in the dark, and the light came to me as a shock when we rounded our final corner back out of the cave. We polished off our lunches, and hit the road, for the less fortunate of us had to return to evening classes. My tale of spelunking ends here, but a fraction of the numerous photos I took are online at:
http://uvm.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2047845&l=f12c8&id=6904435


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ascending into the unknownAscending into the unknown
Ascending into the unknown

The climb to the cave cathedral


31st March 2007

Cool skulls!!!!
James is quite enamored of the skull! He is studying South America and I have sent his teacher your blog site. I am worried that you are not getting enough stimulation down there. Can we trade places so I can be convinced of the intellectual content to your studies? Arggh I am so jealous. To spend one day in your shoes would be awesome.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb