Fun getting there


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Puddle jumperPuddle jumperPuddle jumper

The plane took me to Placencia (Southern Belize).
I picked Belize because I had a sense of adventure about Belize. I had flown home to Arizona via Delta and had volunteered to be "bumped". Their offer was a free round trip ticket anywhere in the USA (except Hawaii); Mexico; Bermuda; or Canada. I had a conversation with a flight agent about where I should go with this ticket. He said he and his wife had gone down to Belize. They encountered a Boa Constrictor drinking water from a puddle in the middle of the road, the snorkeling was incredible, and they rode this "school bus" in which kids would bring their animals on board. He sold me on Belize!

My free ticket got me to Cancun. The puddle jumper from Cancun to Belize had gone out of business, so I braced myself for a bus ride to Chetumul (which borders Belize).

The downside is the bus would not leave until 11 p.m. that night, so I had about 12 hours to kill. I hitched a ride with a taxi driver in Cancun. I sat through a time share pitch but got a free lunch out of the deal. It is very high pressure, so you've got to
Blue Crab ResortBlue Crab ResortBlue Crab Resort

This was my home away from home while I was in Belize. It's a nice resort.
be prepared for that. The taxi driver showed me around Cancun for the rest of the afternoon.

I got to the bus terminal at 9 p.m. The bus got down to the border by 5 a.m. I slept very little. The bus was similar to a Greyhound bus, a nice, smooth ride with A/C. Once we arrived at the border of Belize, I took a school bus down to Belize City, which would be a 2.5 hour ride. School kids boarded the bus, one girl brought her Guinea Pig, and a boy brought his dog. No chickens on this ride.

I arrived in Belize City by 9:30 a.m. and took a "puddle jumper" courtesy of Maya Airlines down to Placencia. The plane resembled something out of the 50's and had seats for 6. I finally arrived at my destination in Placencia, which is in southern Belize.

Placencia is 100 miles south of Belize City. The town is a mile long and isn't spoiled by high rises, jet setters, or high amounts of tourists like other places in the Caribbean.

I stayed at the Blue Crab Resort while I was in Belize. It is a cute resort
First nightFirst nightFirst night

My first night in Belize. A full moon on the beach is incredible.
and I had it to myself since I went during the "rainy" season of the year.

I dozed for a couple of hours since I had gone 24 hours without sleep. I strolled along the Caribbean, the water felt so good and I was in awe as to how beautiful the area was. I had a caribbean style seafood dinner.

My first trip to the bathroom, I had a frog in the toilet bowl, I knew I was in the jungle for sure! While I was at Blue Crab Resort, I developed a friendship with a female Coatimundi (Scratch), that was a couple of months old. She would play peek-a-boo with me, she was quite friendly. The first night of pulling back my bed covers, I had a sleepmate, a lizard!

For the next few days, I would be taking tours over Southern Belize.

At the end of the week, I went into town and did some shopping. I saw a couple of the hotels/resorts along the way, each had their own unique style. In town, I talked with the village folks and admired the baskets.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

ScratchScratch
Scratch

She was precious, a young female Coatimundi. I'd give her bananas to snack on.
Hotel Sein BightHotel Sein Bight
Hotel Sein Bight

This hotel was down the road from my resort. It was owned by a British couple.
Kitty's PlaceKitty's Place
Kitty's Place

This resort is pretty famous.
SamSam
Sam

Sam is one of the basket weavers in Placencia.
ChildrenChildren
Children

The children are not camera shy at all. They enjoy having their pictures taken.
Smallest sidewalkSmallest sidewalk
Smallest sidewalk

According to the World Book of Records in 1997, this is the world's most narrow street, which is 24 inches wide.
LolaLola
Lola

Lola Delgado is an artist in Placencia.
ArtworkArtwork
Artwork

Here is some of Lola's artwork. She hand painted some conch shells featuring Belize artwork. I bought one of the shells.


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 81; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb