Boating to Belize and coming FULL CIRCLE!


Advertisement
Published: December 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The next morning I took a beautiful bus ride to the Guatemalan border on the "jungle route." We forded rivers and nearly got stuck in the mud a few times... very fun.

I stayed in Puerto Barrios, Guatemala for the night before catching a boat to Punta Gorda, Belize. The ride was a very rough one and I got totally soaked, despite the tarp pulled over all us passengers. We unloaded and made our way to the bus station, where most of us caught a 7 hour chicken bus ride to Belize City... Just can't get enough school buses!! Along the way our driver played Boy George and Shania Twain... wonderful.

Once I arrived at the Seaside Guesthouse, I found that there was a fellow Virginian staying there, who immediately lifted me up in a huge bearhug and spun me around while yelling how great it was to see me. Ben and I met in Flores (Tikal!!) at the VERY beginning of both our trips. He had been traveling with another friend from home, Dave, who decided to extend his stay. Ben and I both had to admit we had forgotten each other's names, but thought about the other along the way... I had heard of two crazy American guys wreaking havoc and partying their way through Central America... turns out we were just trailing each other the entire way! We spent the evening recoutning our adventures and the numerous people we had met... every cool girl I met he romanced, every cool guy I met was his travel partner somewhere along the way. We did the same hikes, same volcanoes, same beaches, same hostels. This is one of two travelers I actually want to hang out with once I get back in the USA, the other being Mark!

The trip has come FULL CIRCLE now!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb