Animal lovers traveling to Caye Caulker? Help make a difference.


Advertisement
Published: October 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cat NapCat NapCat Nap

Animal lovers: Help make a difference!
In 2003 I was working a tour leader for a Canadian adventure tour company and my route took me through Mexico, Guatemala and Belize. That is how I ended up in Caye Caulker for the first time. On one of my trips, I went with a local friend to rent some snorkel gear and met this lady that had a cat sanctuary. She was renting snorkel gear at the time. That is how I first met Madi from P.A.W. (Protecting Animal Welfare) cat sanctuary. Of course, at the time, I was working as a guide and traveling so much that my focus was not on animal rescue although I have always loved animals and have rescued many from the streets where I live in Mexico.

I visited the small island of Caye Caulker many times and it has become one of my favorite destinations, although I did forget all about Madi and her cats. I no longer work as a tour leader and live in Playa del Carmen, where I got involved with a wonderful group and their cat rescue organization. I was planning a trip to Belize with a friend and mentioned it to the organization’s founder, and she
Jaguar CabanaJaguar CabanaJaguar Cabana

Rent the Jaguar Cabana. It's right on the water on the back side of the island.
asked me if I knew Madi. Then she started talking about her and it all came back to me. Madi has been coming to Playa del Carmen over the past years to volunteer at a big spay/neuter clinic that happens every year. So many of the cat lovers here in Playa know her.

I checked out her web site and saw that she has a cute little cabana that she rents, and cheap I may say. And the proceeds all go to caring for the cats at her sanctuary. So I decided why would I pay for a hotel when I could stay with Madi and help her and the cats. So I wrote her and booked her little Jaguar cabana for me, my friend and her son.

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect but my friend and I were glad we stayed with Madi. Madi’s place is a large sandy lot with shady palm trees, ocean front on the back side of the island. Her house sits on one side and the Jaguar cabana is right on the ocean. It has a bathroom with shower just a few steps away. And the beach is lined with
The DockThe DockThe Dock

Enjoy the beautiful sunsets from Madi's dock.
lounge chairs and a private dock. The room was simple but clean, just what we were looking for.

Madi provides a permanent home for 67 cats, 4 dogs and a duck. All of these animals have been abandoned on the island. She receives no donations or volunteer help from islanders. Yet she amazingly gets through every day, providing loving care to these animals. Each animal has a name and is part of her family. She has the whole lot enclosed with spacious areas for the cats to play. Each area is set up with tunnels, boxes and ledges for the cats to climb and play. And she keeps it immaculately clean. The cats all have their outdoor free time but the enclosures ensures their safety.

Madi offers a volunteer program and I am glad to say I am going back to stay for a week to volunteer with her. I will also be helping her with some online marketing to help her with donations. Animal lovers - if you are going to Caye Caulker, you can help too.
1- Rent the Jaguar cabana. It’s cheap. $25 Belize dollars ($12.50USD) per day per person. It has a double bed, single bed and room for a hammock if needed.
2- Donate: You don’t need to be there to donate. Visit her web site and make a pay pal donation.
3- Donate a laptop (new or used) Madi’s old computer just doesn’t help her to keep in touch with her online friends and donors.
4- Help me coordinate online marketing for donations. Contact Cyndi at cyndi2042@hotmail.com

Madi has a big heart to devote her life to caring for these animals that were carelessly discarded. We can all make a difference by helping in any way we can. To find out more about P.A.W. the web site is: http://www.pawanimalsanctuarybelize.com/ Any help is greatly appreciated.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb