Swimming with the turtles


Advertisement
Barbados' flag
Central America Caribbean » Barbados » Bridgetown
September 10th 2008
Published: September 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hawksbill turtleHawksbill turtleHawksbill turtle

I was elated that we were surrounded by these beautiful creatures.
Day #3 - Sep 4th.

One of the things that I looked most forward to was swimming with the turtles and snorkeling over some ship wrecks.

It was suggested that I go on a Catamaran instead of a regular powerboat. I took this cruise with Cool Running Catamaran Cruises. They will pick you up at your hotel around 8:30 or so and drive to Bridgetown to hop on your boat.

From the start, the crew was incredibly friendly: cracking jokes, getting everybody on board a cocktail, and allowing us to take over the boat. It was not too crowded -- we sat on the back of the boat the entire time - legs dangling in the water even at higher speeds -- and just chilled.

Lunch on-board was great! I imagined light sandwiches, but was surprised to be served buffet style with a green salad, beans & vegetables, fish, chicken, fresh baked banana bread, and carrot cake.

We made 3 stops. One to snorkel with the turtles, the second to snorkel over a sunken wreck and coral reef and the third to enjoy a nice meal. Depending on the weather and currents, the water is going
Puffer FishPuffer FishPuffer Fish

These are odd looking fish.
to be crystal clear or a little hazy. For the most part, you can still see everything. The turtles are really cool, especially being able to swim with them.

I saw several Hawksbill turtles, but did not see any Leatherback turtles. The Hawksbill turtles can grow to 30-39 inches and weigh between 150 to 220 pounds. The peak season for nesting in Barbados is between mid-May through mid to late October.

The Leatherback turtle is the largest turtle, they can grow to six and half feet, and weigh 2000 pounds. Their shell is not "hard" like other turtles.

Snorkeling over the shipwrecks were fun, it was tough getting some clear pictures, and I'm not sure if the flash in my camera went off.

As we were heading back to the docks, we noticed quite a bit of flying fish. We were in more open waters and being in the front, I got splashed a lot more often by the water. That was fine by me!

I highly recommend Cool Running Catamaran Cruises, and this is an event you don't want to miss.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

SurroundedSurrounded
Surrounded

I felt like I was in this giant aquarium. It really is awesome to be underwater!
Big OneBig One
Big One

I was hoping this one didn't get away from me before I could get his mug.
ShipwreckShipwreck
Shipwreck

It was tough to get a clear image of this ship. To get a better shot, I would've had to be no more than 6 feet from this.
Life underwaterLife underwater
Life underwater

Reef and plant life is astounding.
Living it upLiving it up
Living it up

I've never been on a catamaran so this was a first for me. This photo is of a catamaran similar to ours.


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 86; dbt: 0.0894s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb