Horsin Around in Barbados


Advertisement
Barbados' flag
Central America Caribbean » Barbados
September 11th 2008
Published: September 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day #4 - Sept 5th

Today, I look forward to my horseback ride. First things first, I chowed down on some breakfast. As I walked back to my room, I snapped a picture of a lizard.

I was picked up at my hotel by Bernard, owner of Ocean Echo Stables. Our ride would be on the south-eastern part of the island. The ride that I was going on is Bath Beach Riding Tour. It is a 1.5 hour ride leading down to the Atlantic coast.

Once Bernard and I saddled up, we were on our merry way. We manage to see a Green Monkey, he was too quick for me to get a snap shot. Along the trails, I spotted a small waterfall.

After we spotted the waterfall, we had brief rain shower. I can add riding horseback in the rain as one of my accomplishments in life. We rode along the coast, it was really awesome!

On the way back to the stables, we saw some banana trees. The bananas weren't quite ripe.

The horses were treated to a cool bath and we were treated to some cool punch! It's a great way to
Bajan barn kittyBajan barn kittyBajan barn kitty

What a cutie.
end the ride. This is a "must do" activity while you're in Barbados.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Many happy trailsMany happy trails
Many happy trails

I was eager to hit the trails. The helmet saved my hair - having curly hair, I looked like I was plugged into a light socket!
BernardBernard
Bernard

Bernard and his wife own Ocean Echo Stables. There are 6-7 stables in Barbados. I highly recommend Ocean Echo Stables, really great people!
Waterfall on the trailsWaterfall on the trails
Waterfall on the trails

The waterfall was a welcome sight and quite unexpected (for me).
Rocky sideRocky side
Rocky side

The rocks on the Atlantic side never cease to amaze me. They add to the uniqueness of the coastline.
GiddyupGiddyup
Giddyup

I looked like I was about to fly. We had a brief shower, so I was given the poncho. I understand why the horse didn't want to move.
Flamboyant TreeFlamboyant Tree
Flamboyant Tree

This is one of the prettiest trees. A song has been composed for this tree called "Poinciana", written and sung by Noel Coward. The tree has red blooms in July, August, and September.
Banana BloomBanana Bloom
Banana Bloom

This Banana tree is large enough to bloom. The purple-maroon torpedo shaped growth appears out of the the top of the largest of the trunks. The growth is in layers.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb