Oops hello


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well well well,

Yes he's not dead! how are you all?

None too surprisingly A lot of things have happened since my last update, almost too many to remember. ITs so busy on board you wouldn't believe. This week has been pretty insane as Mick, the only other English Photog has left, now leaving me as the sole representative of the UK in the group. I take this burden not lightly, especially after I had to endure the tedium of the 4th of July and all anti Uk associated things..

It did get me thinking though (on a slightly more philosophical note) that for all we rip the piss out of them, the yanks have actually got something right. I mean it is possibly the only time when their whole country is united in a celebration (apart from New Year). Here is somewhere that Britain should copy the US. Why not have a Britain Day? We are the only country probably that doesn't celebrate the fact that we are a country, and that in itself is something to be proud on. I mean for Gods sake, who else has "Great" in their countries name? We are great. We should start believing in it more.

Ok, so I've turned off the gramaphone playing rule Britannia now. Maybe I've been out of the country for too long, but don't you think it would be a good idea... at least for the sake of a state sponsored a piss up?

Ok, so things that have happened so far. Today I was shooting in the Bahamas on Princess Cays.

The sun is hot.

Rob is not built for the warm weather.

Rob was hungover.

Rob had an image count of 250+ to get from 9-11.30.

This meant Rob had to put on a big gurning grin for all of these hours and try to coax fat sweaty passengers to stop in the blistering morning heat to have their pictures taken with direct sunlight in their faces on a bridge with no shade.

Rob also at this point began to cook and even now has a lingering aroma of roast pork about him.

Rob does not like Princess Cays.

Also Rob got nominated for employee of the month, by ways of a thank you from the manager for not giving him shit. When everyone else was moaning about their shifts, Rob stoically (some would say stupidly) kept his head down and plowed through whatever 12 hours of bastarddom Dave (the manager gave him). I didn't win, but got an honorable mention, so I got to mean the captain again and got a free shore excursion to take when I wanted. Bonus!

I've also been shooting renewall of vows ceremonies. These entail people ranging from 5 years wed to 35 coming to the chapel (with its tinny electric candles) to be read a b it of blurb by the captain whilst I feverishly flap round taking pics of the ceremony. They even play the wedding march on the speakers! The cheese of it is unbelievable,, but I will say one thing. For almost every couple, there are tears. It really seems to bring some of them right back to their wedding day and, even though it is only 15 minutes long, it is just as charged with emotion. Sad in one way, but nice in another. It also means I get to see the Captain and have a little bit of banter with him, which is always a good laugh. His name is Guiseppe Romano (no guesses for where he's from!).

Also I have a nickname. Those of you who know me will laugh at this as you know how feircely my loyalties lie north of the border. My nickname is "English" or "eeenglish" as most of the guys pronounce it. It does make me smile to hear how the rest of Eastern Europe and Canada views the UK and what they think a typical Englander is. Apparently I fit the bill (for better or worse), so eeenglish I am for now!

There are any more ramblings I need to commit to type, as well as pictures of my second major shoot on the beach backdrop with all associated hawaiian shirts!

Take care one and all.

Advertisement



9th July 2007

Ahh...
...ye perr wee thing :) And damn right there should be a Britain Day - I'd join in the festivities and sing God S(h)ave the Queen the loudest - as long as I get to drink my own continental lager, and not that weak lemonadey pish (Carling) that you lot call beer around here :P

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb