Time n' Paradise


Advertisement
Bahamas' flag
Central America Caribbean » Bahamas » Nassau
September 23rd 2006
Published: September 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

First thing first, I have to say that TravelBlog kicks butt. Seriously, this site is awesome. It inspires me to write somthing to share for all travelgoers out there. With that said, the events occured last Septemeber 19-20. I was planning to write this experience of mine on a notebook, sound chessy? Not really, but somehow I got the time and a peace of mind from work and I have the office by myself. Please note that I don't have a digicam, though I have a disposable camera and will scan it some other day.

Day 1

Sleeping under a blanket that covers from the bitter coldness of aircondition (Yes, somehow they haven't adjusted the temperature). First thing I heard is cluttering and chatting of my roomates in early morning, that forced me to wake up 6:30 considering I went to bed on previous night very late. I got up, did my morning routine hygine and put on my tourist clothes. Like casual shorts, tee, and a tropical looking flipflops which I got somewhere in between San Diego and Panama City. Though, I tried to sneak out early but somehow my boss caught me and gave me that look. Little did I know that me and other people have to clean the compartment before leaving the workplace. That sure is a bad way to start my day. But alas, that moment is behind and I moved on.

After the cleaning and whatnot, I met up with my other filipino co-workers and headed straight to the meeting point of our tour. Once I walked out from the gate, I feel the sensation ran throughout my body. I could not express it but, it in a good way. I tried to look around, but the group is on schedule. So we got on a ferry boat that has two decks. The host announced that from Nassau to Rose Island takes about 40 minutes ferry ride. With that, it got me excited. I moved to the upper deck and started taking pictures with my cellphone and disposable camera. Once we went underway, I can hear people around me chatting and I could feel their excitement in their minds. But the ride is awhile, so I decided I'll take a nap which I wasn't able to do considering my blood was pumping from this trip.

40 minutes later, we arrived at this little island paradise known as "Sea Island Adventure" and was brief on what the resort has to offer. After brief momemts, I went straight to the beach. Considering I haven't swim in a long time. The beach fascinates me so much that it made me don't want to get in the water. Its so clear and clean. White sands that is a world class, I can't complain. I had to stop and thought for a moment that I still can't believe I'm in Bahamas. Then a sudden burst of motion, I jumped straight to the water. It felt good for just that moment. I spent around 15-30 minutes in the beach kayaking and swimming. After that, I took a break and was invited by my buddies to play beach volleyball. Not to brag or anything, I'm an athletic type of person and can adapt games easily. We played for an hour with fun and laugher, we decided to hit the beach again with snorkles! I went to a part where there is a reef and enjoying the scene that is so beautiful.

Though I did not spend that much time in the water, I took a nap and was woken up by my friend who was telling me that its time to leave. Once a life time opportunity, I took it and its hella worth. On the way back to Nassau, a sudden headache occured. It was so bad, I almost bang my head against the bulkhead(wall) but I sucked it up and waited until I get back on the ship. Once we got back to the ship, I took a shower, changed clothes and took a medicine after eating dinner. I left the ship around 8 at night, we went to this little Filipino/Chinese restaurant called "Cabalen" and its a few blocks away from the pier gate. I also noticed that every business stores are just a walking distance. We spent the whole night at the restaurant, eating and singing kareoke. I'm telling you, Filipinos likes to sing kareoke, except me. I suck at it so bad hahaha. After that we went back to the ship and the day ended.

Day 2

Day 2 was something that I looked forward into. Considering so many shops and whatnot that I have to checked out, so it was a must. I met up with my friends again and this time no cleaning. I first hit up the local market. Browsing for souviniers and I got few of them. Though I had to negotiate until the vendors gave up and gave me a good deal. Just so you know, Nassau is expensive place. After getting my newly aquaired merchandises, we again hit up on that restaurant we went last night. Though we did not stay that long, we ate good food and hit the streets back. After few minutes of diliberation, we decided to hit on the beaches of "Atlantis Hotel" which the place is awesome. While we we're in the taxi heading towards the hotel, the way they drive reminded me back in Philippines. They are insane drivers! Though we got a good deal on the fare.

Once we got to the hotel and walked inside, its like another place and time. The interior decorations and how well they organized things are perfect. We went to the public beach and hang out there for few hours. After that, we walked around inside the hotel and checked things out. I actually bought a magnetic souviner there too. We were just killing time until we meet up with filipina girls that my friend Serrano met the other day. Around 4:30 in the afternoon, we went back to downtown to meet up with them. Not to long we got there, we saw them. Talking and introducing ourselves to one another, it was something to remember too. Then again we went back to Cabalen but it was close and the other chinese restaurant was close too. I noticed in Nassau that the business stores closes early. Around 7 at night they close already thats the only the downside. But after all the talking, the whole group decided to go to the filipina's appartment and actually we cooked there. I really didn't want to go there because it was inconvenience with them but they talked me into coming with them.

We spent the night talking and again singing kareoke. Anyway, almost midnight, we went back to the ship before we get in trouble. But before we got there, few of my buddies are drunk. So I had to watch them. So my days in Nassau, Bahamas was awesome and the people always smiling. I would not forget my time over there. With that side, I think thats the end of my trip. It was a blast and I did not spent that much money hahahaha.

- Nimitz P.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb